MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Internet & Network Support arrow Internet & Email arrow Topic: pc very slow; Keys not in sync with.
October 19, 2019, 11:10:23 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 19, 2019, 11:10:23 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Got pics of your modded PC or want to show off your cool desktop, visit our new Show & Tell forum!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: pc very slow; Keys not in sync with.  (Read 1551 times)
Oldtimer
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: August 26, 2003, 05:08:31 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: Microsoft Windows (Windows 98)
Problem Application Name & Version:Sad
Problem Hardware Make & Model: IBM...2170XXE
Error Messages:



Logged

Shortdee
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2003, 07:51:46 PM »

Hi,

Try running Windows in Diagnostics Startup Mode. Let me know if problem persists.
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Oldtimer
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2003, 04:02:58 AM »

I tried diagnostic startup mode, but it was a wash. The letters are coming up even slower than ever. It took me a whole minute to watch these letters appear on the screen. The screen also freezes up.
Logged

Shortdee
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2003, 12:18:33 PM »

Hi,

Ok, now try it in Safe-Mode and Command Prompt only

Hit F8 right before the Windows logo screen at bootup, this will access the Start Menu which both options are. Safe-Mode will bring you into Windows bypassing loading drivers and software. Then try Command Prompt Only, this will not boot Windows but simply bring you to a DOS prompt. Try typing there. Let me know the results.
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Oldtimer
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2003, 11:33:52 PM »

I just got back on line after being bumped off for a few days.
I tried the above, and the typing was fine. I'd like to add that I'm somewhat computer illiterate, so bear with me.
Also, I noticed that when I type something in my address/search bar, it immediately goes to another search engine that I'd never heard of before. I got suspicious and installed "Spybot", but uninstalled it because it became too complicated. Typing this took me exactly 10 minutes, as I have to wait for the cursor--which moves slowly across the screen...THEN the letters appear. The scrolling, also, is unbelievably slow.
Logged

Shortdee
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: September 11, 2003, 03:36:56 PM »

Hi,

I am assuming the problem went away when you booted Windows in Safe-Mode, right?

Could be spy-ware but I would of thought that booting in Diagnostics Startup mode would have also solved your problem.

Try Ad-Aware anyways, it is simple to use
http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/0,fid,7423,fileidx,1,00.asp
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Oldtimer
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: September 11, 2003, 11:16:06 PM »

No, the problem didn't go away when I booted in safe mode. I'm thinking that I did something wrong. I'll try Ad-Aware and see what happens.
Logged

Shortdee
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: September 17, 2003, 03:12:12 PM »

Hi,

Any luck with Ad-Aware?
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page September 12, 2018, 03:51:12 PM