MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Fax facility on XP
June 02, 2020, 03:10:06 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
June 02, 2020, 03:10:06 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  We now offer MyTechSupport.ca Merchandise! Every purchase goes towards maintaining our site.
Thank you for supporting MyTechSupport.ca!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Fax facility on XP  (Read 755 times)
smudger
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 109


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: October 15, 2003, 06:19:49 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:windows XP
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:us robotics 56k Fax Win modem
Error Messages:



I am trying to set up my fax sending facility on my windows XP home edition. I am currently using freeserve broadband connection. I also have a us robotics 56k Fax Win modem. I think i need to unplug the broadband modem and plug the phone connection in to the robotics modem to be able to send faxes? Is this right? if so do i need to configure it to work or will it just start to dial when i try to send the fax? If so, what do i need to do to configure it? I have tried to send a fax but it won't seem to connect! If you can help, please give me step by step instructions, if possible as i am not to clued up on this sort of thing! Can I use both modems at once?

Please help.

Thank you.
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2003, 12:37:23 AM »

Hi,

If you want to use both you will need to get a phone line splitter and connect both devices to the splitter. The modem will need the phone filter (if that is what is needed on all phone lines with your service).

As for the fax software, I know WinXP has Fax Services that can be installed from the Control Panel's Add/Remove Program under "Windows Components" but I have never used it! Once installed, run the Fax Console and read up on it in the Help within Fax Console, I am sure there is enough information there to get you going.
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page July 18, 2018, 05:21:11 PM