MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Internet & Network Support arrow Internet & Email arrow Topic: Can get online but cant play online games???
June 02, 2020, 01:48:31 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
June 02, 2020, 01:48:31 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
Welcome to MyTechSupport.ca! - Registration is FREE, so why not join our friendly community today?
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Can get online but cant play online games???  (Read 2022 times)
Player-007
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: October 21, 2003, 07:12:14 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: Win XP Home
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model: Modem: U.S. Robotics V92 Fax PCI
Error Messages: Lost Network


I just got a new modem made for gaming (Yes, im still on the wonderful 56k)
I connect at or around 40 kbps most of the time and have a ping of around 160...
Only problem?? I ALWAYS lose the connection to the server on ANY game.
Tried:
Halo PC
Battlefield 1942
Medal of Honor
Jedi Knight II
and
Counter Strike

But,
These two games DO work online:
Star Wars Galaxies
Starcraft (Battle.net)

Perhaps because those two games are on large, high bandwidth servers??
But even then, if I connect to an official server on, say, Halo I'll run nearly perfectly for around 3-5 minutes, then it laggs like hell and it dies. Even on Star Wars Galaxies, I'd get some packet loss for no apparent reason and also suddenly jump from around 200 to 1000 back to 200 from just standing around??

Sounds like a connection problem to me, possibly something I need to change in the modem options?? I don't know, thats why I'm here, lol.

Thnx,
Player-007
Logged

My name on Star Wars Galaxies: Arexen, Galaxy; Ahazi
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2003, 12:07:06 AM »

Hi,

Maybe you have spyware 'phoning home'!

Install a spyware remover to make sure
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Player-007
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2003, 05:17:52 AM »

I tried that...
didnt work, though it did detect and remove something...

Any other suggestions?

Player-007
Logged

My name on Star Wars Galaxies: Arexen, Galaxy; Ahazi
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2003, 07:43:59 PM »

Hi,

Are you using the drivers (not really drivers but INF files) built into WinXP?
If so, the init string in these INF files are for basic modem functionality and perhaps not the correct one for online gaming. Find your USR model and look for an update at http://www.usr.com/support/s-main-menu.asp
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Player-007
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2003, 12:15:24 AM »

yes I have the correct drivers installed...they came on a CD.
I think this problem lies in dialup options...

Player-007
Logged

My name on Star Wars Galaxies: Arexen, Galaxy; Ahazi
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: October 28, 2003, 02:43:06 PM »

Hi,

There is an option "Idle time before hanging up", may sure it is set to "Never" in your Dial-Up properties. Also make sure the Internet Connection Firewall is disabled on the Advanced tab.On the General tab of your Dial-Up properties, hit "Configure" and try with different "Hardware Feature" options enabled. First try the "Hardware Flow Control" and then the others if problems persist.
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Player-007
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: October 30, 2003, 11:37:51 PM »

Well, as it turns out, I also emailed US robotics support, and they told me to download and install new drivers...I do so, and behold! it works great online now with barely any lag!

So, in the end, I must have installed the wrong driver? I don't know, but this is definately an issue to remember Wink

Thnx all who helped:)

Player-007
Logged

My name on Star Wars Galaxies: Arexen, Galaxy; Ahazi
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: October 31, 2003, 01:52:59 PM »

That's great! Glad you got it working! Grin
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page March 08, 2019, 06:34:38 AM