MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Microsoft arrow Topic: No windows will install.... only 98
August 18, 2019, 01:53:29 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 18, 2019, 01:53:29 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  Looking for cheap hardware and/or software?
Visit our new Online Store where you will be able to purchase from a reputable vendor by country.
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: No windows will install.... only 98  (Read 757 times)
ishbooisland
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: October 27, 2003, 10:04:22 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: currently-Win98se
Problem Application Name & Version:setup on other windows
Problem Hardware Make & Model:dont know
Error Messages:none



Hi all, i have a problem (obvioulsy), i just bought a used
 motherboard from a pc store in my mall. Its an AMD K6-2 400mhz processor and a socket 7 mobo. I installed win 98 with no problem, but i realized its not exactly the look of the future lol, so i wanted to upgrade. here comes my problem, if i try to install win me it freezes b4 setup finishes, at the part where you put in your name and organization at the end. If i try to install win 2k pro it freezes after its done in the dos part of the install, it just shows system info like always, then just goes black. The same happens with winxp, i wouldnt try to install that anyway tho:P. Ive gotten a few ppl that said its prolly my hardware or some virus thing in the bios, i havnt tried seeing if i could disable any kind of virus scanner in the bios yet, but i will. I dont need more ram, ill be fine with this. My specs are 64megs of ram, 27gig hd, 450mhz amdk6-2, and a 1mb vid card (lol i know). Any help would be gr4eatly appreciated, thank sin advance.

-Ish
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2003, 02:58:44 PM »

Hi,

To rule out a hardware problem, I would test the hard drive and system memory.
Boot off a Win98 Startup Disk if Win98 is not currently running properly and run scandisk with a surface scan.
Then run a memory tester.
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page April 02, 2017, 11:01:57 AM