MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Broardband knocks my computer out!
July 21, 2019, 06:46:20 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
July 21, 2019, 06:46:20 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
Welcome to MyTechSupport.ca! - Registration is FREE, so why not join our friendly community today?
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Broardband knocks my computer out!  (Read 845 times)
Kevin Paul
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: October 29, 2003, 12:10:07 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:



I recently purchased BT Broadband. And after installing all the relevant files I am prompted to connect the modem into the USB port.
But as soon as I do this the mouse and keyboard stops working. I remove the modem and restart the computer and it all works but when I plug the modem in again the same happens. I have done this many times and now the mouse and keyboard are not working at all.

I am running windows ME and know that the computer has the right requirements to run BT Broardband.Huh?
Logged

 
Haith
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 47


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2003, 02:17:32 PM »

Some broadband modems and computers don't work so well using USB connection.  First thing I'd try is to hook it up via the NIC and see if it works there.
Also, call your ISP tech support in case of known issues.
Hope it helps and keep us informed through to resolution!
Logged

Professional computer geek that loves the outdoors moreso!
Computer worker...console gamer!
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2003, 02:48:28 PM »

Hi,

I agree with Haith, most broadband providers offer a USB and a NIC version of their modems (could be combo for some). If their support can't help, request the NIC version and get them to send you a NIC (network interface card) if you don't have one (if free with service, if not shop around).

If I get this right, now with the modem unplugged, the mouse/keyboard still don't work, right? Did you install/un-install anything? drivers, software....during your troubleshooting?
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page September 21, 2017, 06:33:33 PM