MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Computer automatically reboots when playin games
September 22, 2019, 06:27:08 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 22, 2019, 06:27:08 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  Check out our improved Download section for tons of software....
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Computer automatically reboots when playin games  (Read 2101 times)
rollerbladathug
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: November 23, 2003, 06:03:42 AM »


Operating System Version: Windows XP Pro
Problem Application Name & Version: Games
Problem Hardware Make & Model: Maybe the Chaintech 9VJL3 MoBoard
Error Messages:None. My computer automatically reboots when ONLY playing some video games. I tried messing around in the BIOS with the halt on error **** and it still reboots. Can someone help me?


Logged

VL
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2003, 06:36:28 PM »

Hi,

I would try updating your video card drivers
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
rollerbladathug
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2003, 08:41:55 PM »

I have an Nvidia 5900, and always check for new drivers so that couldnt be the problem.
Logged

VL
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2003, 05:05:59 PM »

Hi,

Are these games online? If so, check your NIC drivers if using broadband connection (e.g. cable, dsl...) Also check your sound card drivers.

Can you give an example of a game that causes this?
Does it happen right when starting the game or after a certain amount of play time?
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
boxes
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 2


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2004, 09:04:51 PM »

i am also having the same problem but it occurs when i am watching a movie using windows media player, and also when i am rapping a dvd movie it is very frustrating.
Logged

 
boxes
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 2


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2004, 09:05:39 PM »

Can you help me out also? i want to make some back up of my movies it is killing me that i cant
Logged

 
Pancake
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +78/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3915


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2004, 04:49:22 AM »

Boxes..Try updating DirectX and your video adapter driver. You might want to also use a different decoder for the video files (e.g. FFDShow for DivX and XviD contents).I found DivX first class.
Logged

An Australian Member of

EDDY
drunkncupid
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: January 13, 2004, 07:00:04 PM »

i am having exactly the same problem, i just had a few questions, are you using an amd processor and has computer ever closed the game and brought you back to the desktop screen without warning while you were playng a game? because that is what sometimes happens to me. I have yet to find the reason for this problem though.
Logged

 
klugenratte
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: January 25, 2004, 05:57:48 AM »

quote:
Originally posted by drunkncupid

i am having exactly the same problem, i just had a few questions, are you using an amd processor and has computer ever closed the game and brought you back to the desktop screen without warning while you were playng a game? because that is what sometimes happens to me. I have yet to find the reason for this problem though.



I am having this same problem.  Yes, I am using an AMD processor.  Yes, occassionally the game closes the and brings me back to the desktop, more frequently, though, the system reboots.

This just started after I upgraded my video card.  I was using an old nVidia Riva TNT2 32MB AGP 1X video card and never had this problem.  The problem began when I upgraded to an nVidia GeForce FX 5200 128MB AGP 8X video card to be able to play "URU: Ages Beyond Myst".  I am not having problems with URU, however I am having problems with "Age of Mythology: The Titans Expansion" (AOM).

I have a 900MHz AMD Athlon, 512MB PC133 RAM, Shuttle AI61 (only supports AGP 1X) motherboard, and a 300W power supply.  My system is running Win 2000 Pro SP4.  I am using nVidia drivers 53.0.3 and DirectX 9.0b (both of which are the most recent versions).

My CPU is running at about 42deg C and my motherboard is running at about 53deg C.

I have adjusted my display properties down in increments, but this has not resolved the problem.  At this point I can play the game for about 30 minutes before my system reboots and I have the settings at 800x600x16 with the low quality graphics selected in the game and all the "features" of the video card turned off.  If I increase any of these values, the system reboots almost as soon as the game begins.

However, I can crank up the graphics in URU and all other applications I've tried without any problems.

I have uninstalled and reinstalled AOM and I have reloaded the drivers and DirectX.  None of this seemed to help.

Any help would be appreciated.
Logged

 
Pancake
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +78/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3915


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #9 on: January 25, 2004, 08:28:05 AM »

Klugenratte.
 A nVidia GeForce FX 5200 128MB AGP 8X on a mobo that only supports AGP 1X is the seat of you problem.
Logged

An Australian Member of

EDDY
klugenratte
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #10 on: January 26, 2004, 02:41:12 PM »

quote:
Originally posted by Pancake

Klugenratte.
 A nVidia GeForce FX 5200 128MB AGP 8X on a mobo that only supports AGP 1X is the seat of you problem.



This was my first thought as well.  I plan to upgrade this week.

In the interim, I upgraded my power supply from 300W to 500W.  Although I wasn't certain it would make a difference, I had hoped this would be enough to get me through until I upgrade the motherboard, CPU, and RAM.  Unfortunately, my fears proved founded and I am still experiencing the same problem.
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page April 23, 2017, 06:33:10 PM