MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Application Problems arrow Topic: Stanby mode
September 22, 2019, 07:14:10 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 22, 2019, 07:14:10 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  Check out our improved Download section for tons of software....
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Stanby mode  (Read 1036 times)
Skipper
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 24


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: November 30, 2003, 01:36:46 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:Windows 2000 Pro
Problem Application Name & Version:IE 6, Outlook Express 6
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:


Hi,
Power options is set to put machine on stanby mode after 5 min.,to never turn off monitor nor hard disks. It works fine but sometimes, when I press the space bar to get it out of stanby mode(which it is set to), it won't do it and I have to shut it down by holding power button for 5 sec. and start it again.

Also, I would like to know why Outlook Express tells me that I have 12 new messages for example while it shows only 3 messages. I am using it for 3 different accounts with Hotmail.
Thanks,
Skipper  
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2003, 04:28:18 PM »

Hi,

I would check the Power Management Features in your BIOS to see what they are set to. If they're enabled, try disabling Power Management at the BIOS level.

Please Note: The Turn Off Monitor power option does not work with the following chipsets, using the drivers shipped with Windows 2000:
-Older Matrox chipsets
-Compaq QVision
-Weitek P9
-Tseng W32/ET6000
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Skipper
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 24


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2003, 01:39:24 PM »

Hi,

I tried it but no joy...

Guess I'll have to live with that!

Thanks anyway,

Skipper
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2003, 08:10:49 PM »

Hi,

Unfortunately there are still issues with Power Management feature in Windows causing these types of problems. If anybody else have a solution, please let us know!

The only thing that comes to mind is perhaps the motherboard manufacturer has a BIOS update to address this.

PLEASE NOTE: If a BIOS upgrade is performed incorrectly, you could render your system useless!
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page April 20, 2017, 04:05:21 AM