MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Hard Drive Problem, please help
November 17, 2019, 09:27:51 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 17, 2019, 09:27:51 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
Help us help you! Help us help you by helping out! The more people know about us, the more help will be available. Click here to find out how...
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Hard Drive Problem, please help  (Read 2058 times)
guitaristboy88
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: December 04, 2003, 10:16:10 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: Win XP pro
Problem Application Name & Version: Windows
Problem Hardware Make & Model: Maxtor 6L120L0
Error Messages: Its a 120gig used as a slave, but what happened is that one time i started my computer, and 5-10 mintues in, the screen goes black with some words i couldn't read, it was so fast, and then it restarts it self. when it boots back up, i go to my computer, and the hard drive says its unformatted. i go to format, and it only lets me format to 31.4gb. so i ran MaxBlast, and booted the cd, formatted in dos, and it let me format to the whole 120 gig (actually i think its 114) and then the same thing happened about a day later, black screen, restarts, turns into a 31.4. i ran powermax, and it says it has no problems... what can i do?



« Last Edit: December 05, 2003, 06:48:53 AM by guitaristboy88 » Logged

 
bbhagrid
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 243


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2003, 02:19:48 PM »

have you run a virus scan on that drive?
Logged

When I die, I want to die like my grandmother, who died peacefully
in her sleep.  Not screaming like all the passengers in her car.

Brian
guitaristboy88
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2003, 03:59:41 PM »

nope, but i guess i should try. it doesnt seem much like it would be a virus type of thing though, but ill try and get back to you.
Logged

 
guitaristboy88
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2003, 11:08:40 PM »

well, first of all.. it took about 1 second to scan, cause theres nothing on it since its formatted, but, no viruses
Logged

 
bbhagrid
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 243


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 05, 2003, 11:24:54 PM »

hmmm make sure your power is connected securely to the drive , I would also go into the bios and see if it detects the hard drive there and also go into device manager and see if there are any conflicts , had a similar prob with one of my pc's but my brain is fried right now and I cant think of what i did to fix the problem but I will post it soon as I remember
Logged

When I die, I want to die like my grandmother, who died peacefully
in her sleep.  Not screaming like all the passengers in her car.

Brian
guitaristboy88
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: December 05, 2003, 11:40:48 PM »

its securely connected, its not a problem of bios either. plus i cant send it back to maxtor becase powermax says its fine.. :/
Logged

 
bbhagrid
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 243


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: December 06, 2003, 05:22:22 PM »

Try a different cable and see if that helps any

and it could be one of the following is the problem
The hard drive is defective and occaisionally its controller looses function and the communication with the drive is lost.
The motherboard is defective and occaisionally the IDE controller quits.

Other possibilities are a bios problem, or a battery problem causing the bios to loose the drive id information. Or a short on the board, (lack of insulating washers to isolate the board from the standoffs/ screws. ).
Logged

When I die, I want to die like my grandmother, who died peacefully
in her sleep.  Not screaming like all the passengers in her car.

Brian
bbhagrid
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 243


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: December 06, 2003, 05:29:54 PM »

also One other thing worth considering is the power supply. Could be dropping voltage on one leg and the drive is no longer getting what it needs. or the power supply is inadequate what do you have installed as far as your operating system,drives (hdd,cdroms and such)
Logged

When I die, I want to die like my grandmother, who died peacefully
in her sleep.  Not screaming like all the passengers in her car.

Brian
Joshin
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: December 13, 2003, 02:30:34 AM »

im not that good at computers but i have an old computer which is only 200 mhz and when ever i start it up it says theres a primary hard disk fail' and i was wondering what to do!
Logged

 
guitaristboy88
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #9 on: December 14, 2003, 01:08:06 AM »

do you have an OS installed?
Logged

 
guitaristboy88
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #10 on: December 15, 2003, 11:56:13 PM »

it was the power supply. i had a 300, and switched to a 400 its fine now, thanks
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #11 on: December 17, 2003, 04:24:13 PM »

Glad you got your problem solved!

Thanks for updating your thread with your solution! Grin
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page June 29, 2018, 10:53:35 AM