MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: new RAM causing my computer to freeze
September 17, 2019, 11:02:19 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 17, 2019, 11:02:19 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  Check out our improved Download section for tons of software....
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: new RAM causing my computer to freeze  (Read 1151 times)
wheaney
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: December 05, 2003, 01:04:54 AM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: XP Pro
Problem Application Name & Version: N/A
Problem Hardware Make & Model: 512MB PC-100 (64X4) SDRAM Generic High Density Standard SDRAM
Error Messages: None



Since I bought my computer 3 years ago I've upgraded my RAM 3 times.  The first time was just adding 128 MB, and nothing went wrong.  The next time I tried to add another 128 and the computer was freezing at least once a day, I eventually traced it to the new RAM and took it out, figuring that there was a problem with that particular part.  So just recently I decided to upgrade to 512 MB, I removed my old RAM and installed the 512.  Appartently it wasn't just that particular 128, because my computer is doing the same thing it did last time and now I think it has something to do with my computer, because with my old RAM it never froze.  I don't want to have to take out my 512 and just use my old RAM because that would mean I wasted money, and I'll be stuck with the 192 I had before, does anyone know of a way that this might be fixed without having to take out the 512?
Logged

String signature = "Until next time...";
System.out.println(signature);
bbhagrid
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 243


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2003, 02:17:54 PM »

give www.crucial.com a try and see if what they list for memory upgrades for your pc is the same as the memory you have..let us know what they say and we can go from there
Logged

When I die, I want to die like my grandmother, who died peacefully
in her sleep.  Not screaming like all the passengers in her car.

Brian
wheaney
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2003, 07:21:14 PM »

Ok, went to crucial, put in my computer type, and here's an important note that showed up at the top of the page:

"Your system only supports modules made with a specific type of chips. While you might find what appears to be the exact same memory for a lower price elsewhere, chances are good that the cheaper memory will not work in your system."

My 512 was the cheapest I could find, I admit, but the problem that crucial is talking about obviously does not apply here, because it does work in my system (ie, the system boots without a compatibility message, and works fine until it freezes like once a day.)  The site made it sound like the computer would tell you if there was a problem, rather than problems actually presenting themselves, such as my computer freezing.  So, for now I will assume that this isn't my problem.  Thanks for the suggestion.
Logged

String signature = "Until next time...";
System.out.println(signature);
wheaney
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2003, 07:32:45 PM »

Update:  About 4 days ago I installed Windows 2000, I had been running XP Pro before, and since then it hasn't frozen once... so maybe it was a combination of cheap RAM and an overrated OS.  So for now my computer isn't freezing at all, and hopefully it won't start at any point.
Logged

String signature = "Until next time...";
System.out.println(signature);
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 17, 2003, 05:47:00 PM »

Hi,

Let us know if the problem returns. I somehow thing it will but you never know.

The problem is sometimes there is a timing issue between RAM of different manufacturer or even chip layout (or numbers) on the module.
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page November 02, 2017, 08:16:50 AM