MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Hard drive beeps
November 17, 2019, 09:10:03 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 17, 2019, 09:10:03 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
12th Anniversary Celebrating 12 Years! (1997 - 2009) 12th Anniversary
Thanks to ALL that make this site what it is!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Hard drive beeps  (Read 2884 times)
Slacker
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: December 08, 2003, 07:28:59 AM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:



Windows XP pro (SP1)
Atlon 2800,
Asus A7N8X Deluxe (Latest Bios) (2.03 - 2.45 Norfce drivers)
512Mbs of OCZ Tech EL Dual CH
Radeon 9600 (latest driver, tried previous ones too)
Seagate Serial ATA 160Mbs HD
LG CD-R/DVD combo drive
Enermax 350W power supply

Month ago my Serial ATA HD failed. I sent it out for a replacement and installed an older Maxtor 80Gbs ATA133. Everything worked fine (it was slooow, hehe). A week ago I got my replacement HD. I reinstalled WinXP on it. My system became quite unstable, apps would crash. I reinstalled WinXP again, then I noticed that the HD would make a single beep every now and then and would freeze up Windows for 3-5 seconds.
I ran all the Seagate HD tests. All came up OK. But the HD still continues to make a single beep every now and then and freezes up the system. Also had a Kernel access error blue screen once.
Has anyone else ran into this problem before?
Should I low level format the HD?
I reflashed my bios a couple of times just to make sure.
I also set my bios to the most safe settings possible, still having the same problem.
« Last Edit: December 08, 2003, 07:32:03 AM by Slacker » Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2003, 07:25:30 PM »

Hi,

What SATA adapter are you using?

Seagate may have given you a refurbished drive with intermittent problems. If dealing through a PC shop, get them to test the drive in another system by installing Windows on it and if the problems are duplicated, they can then replace the drive (again!)
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Slacker
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2003, 04:55:42 AM »

Sorry, I got a bit busy and didnt have time to look up the posts.
I'm using the one that's build onto the mobo:
Silicon ImageR Sil 3112A Controller with 2 ports Support RAID 0/1

I have taken it back to the store. Hopefully I'll get a replacement for it. They suggested power issues, but for the time beeing I have 2 older Maxtor ATA 133 hd's running (1 80gbs and 1 40gbs) and both seem fine.


quote:
Originally posted by Admin

Hi,

What SATA adapter are you using?

Seagate may have given you a refurbished drive with intermittent problems. If dealing through a PC shop, get them to test the drive in another system by installing Windows on it and if the problems are duplicated, they can then replace the drive (again!)

« Last Edit: December 19, 2003, 04:56:44 AM by Slacker » Logged

 
Gray
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 12


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2003, 07:38:19 AM »

something  you can do is call the manfacturer and ask them for an exchange (again)  Give them the modle number on the hard drive and if it is withen warrenty (which it shouold be)  they will send you a new hard drive (after asking for a credit card.  only for insurance purposes)  and a self addressed package for you to return the old hard drive.   They usually send you a new hard drive if yours is still covered in the warrenty.       This option takes a while but is generally worth it.   You may already have done this (porbably did) but its an idea


Logged

 
RonT
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2004, 02:27:19 AM »

Slacker,

My Seagate SATA 120GB drive is doing that same thing. It will beep now and then and the PC will hang. Sometimes it beeps several times before starting to access data again.

I have also run utilities and combed Seagates web site for answers but cant find any.

Let us know what you outcome is whether the drive is bad or not. If mine is going bad I better catch up on my backups.

Thanks
Logged

 
Pancake
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +78/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3915


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2004, 06:59:53 AM »

This sounds more of a memory  problem from what the bios beep is saying.Check to see if all the cards are seated and have not worked loose during the install of the hd.
« Last Edit: January 03, 2004, 08:11:50 AM by Pancake » Logged

An Australian Member of

EDDY
Slacker
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: January 03, 2004, 12:14:55 PM »

I'm still waiting to hear back from the store.
All the cards are sitting in nice and "toit".
The beeping doesn't come from the mobo but from the HD itself.
I'm still running 2 older ATA133 Maxtors, that are way more power hungry than the SATA HD.
I'll see about swapping the ram for some Kingston, but I dobut that's the case since it works fine with the 2 older hds. I'll let you guys know what happens.

Logged

 
Pancake
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +78/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3915


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: January 04, 2004, 05:13:47 AM »

My last suggestion is the IDE controller
Logged

An Australian Member of

EDDY
Slacker
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: January 27, 2004, 10:24:29 AM »

Just an update on my problem,
In the end it turned out to be 2 issues:
1) The replacement HD was faulty, the 3rd one was just fine.
2) The power supply was off on the 12V, (12.35) to be exact. The Seagate HD didn't like the extra voltage (maxtor HD's worked fine).

Hope this helps anyone else who had this problem.
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #9 on: January 27, 2004, 06:06:00 PM »

Great! Glad to hear all is working for you!

Thanks for the update! Grin
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page June 14, 2018, 07:43:19 PM