MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: my computer can't find my internal Modem
October 18, 2019, 06:41:15 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 18, 2019, 06:41:15 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Got pics of your modded PC or want to show off your cool desktop, visit our new Show & Tell forum!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: my computer can't find my internal Modem  (Read 1076 times)
silly sarah1
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: December 10, 2003, 07:40:51 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:



:-*I have an EMASHINES computer 1000B.  I have Windows 98 and a Standard 1200 BPS modem.  When I tried to connect with AOL 8.0 It can't find the modem. Maybe it's the version of AOL?? I used to have Windows ME version and I had problems and so I cleaned out the computer and reinstalled windows 98.  The computer said ERROR - The modem failed to respond.  Make sure it is properly connected and turned on.  If it is an internal modem or is connected, verify that the interrupt for the port is properly set. /// The port is com1, the interrupt is 4 and it says the identifier is MDMGEN12.  Whatever that means... HELP_... I am not that computer savvy, but I've gotten this far, if anyone can help it would be much appriciated..
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2003, 05:43:09 PM »

Hi,

First thing, the modem is not configured properly. Go to the "Device Manager" tab of the "System" applet in the Control Panel and update the driver of the "Standard 1200 BPS modem" to the correct manufacturer and model.

Then go to the "Modem" applet in the Control Panel, select the "Diagnostics" tab, then highlight (select) your modem and hit the "More Info" button. This will test communication between the modem and Windows.
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page December 27, 2018, 12:57:39 PM