MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: HP Pavilion 6540C - No Response from Power Switch
November 20, 2019, 10:39:52 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 20, 2019, 10:39:52 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Looking for cheap hardware and/or software?
Visit our new Online Store where you will be able to purchase from a reputable vendor by country.
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: HP Pavilion 6540C - No Response from Power Switch  (Read 1554 times)
crxman
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: December 19, 2003, 09:47:37 AM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: Win98
Problem Application Name & Version: N/A
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages: N/A



HP Pavilion 6540C - No Response from Power Switch

Ok i have a HP Pavilion 6540C
466 Intel Celeron
the power supply is good, but when i press the power button nothing happens, i check all the cables there all good and tight. could the switch be at falt??? and what is a free/easy way to test the switch or rig the machine to start with another switch?
Logged

 
Haith
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 47


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2003, 04:44:30 PM »

It certainly could be the problem...but finding out for sure could involve replacing the switch or bypassing it...not something for the average person to try.
Couple of other simple things to try.  Make sure the main switch at the back of the system is on.
If it's connected to a power bar, make sure it's power is on and reset the surge protector.  My dog once hit my power bar switch in the middle of a mid-nap stretch.
There are also protective fuses inside most cases.
Logged

Professional computer geek that loves the outdoors moreso!
Computer worker...console gamer!
oldsofty
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2003, 05:29:08 AM »

thanks to everyone ,I got it working and what it was was a dos version error and I got the next dos version up and all worked well after that so I could use fdisk , thanks again.
Logged

 
crxman
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2003, 07:57:11 AM »

ok im 100% sure the power suply works and has power, so it must be the sitch, so how can i rig it? i can sodder ect. i just need to know what switch types i can use. thanks
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page November 11, 2016, 03:10:23 PM