MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: My sound disappeared
September 22, 2019, 11:13:31 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 22, 2019, 11:13:31 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  New Poll on our main page!
"My experience with Vista..."
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: My sound disappeared  (Read 1874 times)
Lone Oak
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: December 22, 2003, 04:52:35 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:Win XP Pro
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:  no name clone computer AMD duron 1.2, 512k ram.
Error Messages: none



I was recently booting up and the computer suddenly stopped as if it had lost power.  When I got it to restart I had no sound at all, none nada zilch.  I purchased a new Creative Sound Blaster PCI 16 card and installed it along with the correct drivers.  I have checked all the settings in the device manager and they are correct.  The manager also says that the new card is working properly and is enabled.  Three different sets of speakers have been tried, all cables are plugged in correctly.  I have switched back to the built in sound and back to the PCI with no luck.

This problem appears to be in the motherboard somewhere.  Is there a setting or bios problem that may be causing my problem?

I appreciate any help.Grin

Danny
The Lone Oak

Logged

 
Lone Oak
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2003, 01:22:39 AM »

After much clicking and changing settings I started getting an error message.  Has any one seen this or know where I can get audio compression.

Error

Windows cannot play the %systemRoot%\media\windows XP Error.wav file.  The file may be damaged or may use an unrecognized compression format.  To resolve this problem, replace the file or use Add/Remove Programs in Control panel to install Audio Compression.


Can any one help me with this problem?

Thanks

Danny
Logged

 
Minus29
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2003, 03:34:52 AM »

quote:
Originally posted by Lone Oak

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:Win XP Pro
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:  no name clone computer AMD duron 1.2, 512k ram.
Error Messages: none



I was recently booting up and the computer suddenly stopped as if it had lost power.  When I got it to restart I had no sound at all, none nada zilch.  I purchased a new Creative Sound Blaster PCI 16 card and installed it along with the correct drivers.  I have checked all the settings in the device manager and they are correct.  The manager also says that the new card is working properly and is enabled.  Three different sets of speakers have been tried, all cables are plugged in correctly.  I have switched back to the built in sound and back to the PCI with no luck.

This problem appears to be in the motherboard somewhere.  Is there a setting or bios problem that may be causing my problem?

I appreciate any help.Grin

Danny
The Lone Oak





Hi Lone,

It sounds (no pun intended) like your bios is still set to the default internal (computer) speaker. After installing a sound card you need to go into the bios and uncheck the setting for the internal speaker, otherwise you won't get any sound out of your card. You'll need to find out how to access your bios; my servers use F8 on bootup, but yours may be different. After unchecking/removing the internal speaker setting, save your new bios settings; the computer should continue to load your OS with the new settings. You might need to reboot. Hope this helps. Good luck.

Minus29

Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page April 17, 2017, 04:03:31 PM