MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Microsoft arrow Topic: dial up box comes up as windows 98 is loading
September 18, 2019, 10:33:58 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 18, 2019, 10:33:58 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  We now offer MyTechSupport.ca Merchandise! Every purchase goes towards maintaining our site.
Thank you for supporting MyTechSupport.ca!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: dial up box comes up as windows 98 is loading  (Read 1465 times)
sopo
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: January 06, 2004, 02:20:39 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:Windows 98 SE
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:Toshiba Tecra 8100 laptop
Error Messages:?


Can anyone pls help a tired and fed up, bumbling amateur? As soon as windows is starting to load my Dial Up connection appears on the screen and wont go away... even cancelling 15/20 times! I am running Norton internet security 2003and have disabled them in scheduled tasks but still the same problem.I learned a lot last night by reading many previous posts and tried the msconfig/ startup method but couldnt see any "bad" programs. I tried turning them all off one by one but still the problem occurs. I am now at the end of my ability with this thing as well as my wits!! Please help if you can:)
..... i read a few more of the problems and solutions on this site and thought it all pointed to spyware... so i installed and ran Ad aware 6 which found ( and quaratined 3 low risk items ) but still the problem is there.... i am now clueless and desperate....all advice and help will be gratefully received..thx
« Last Edit: January 06, 2004, 08:53:35 PM by sopo » Logged

 
Pancake
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +78/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3915


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2004, 05:02:08 AM »

Open Internet Explorer.
Click Tools > Internet Options.
When viewing the Internet Options window, click the Connections tab.
Select Never dial a connection.
Click Apply.
Click OK to close the Internet Options window.
Logged

An Australian Member of

EDDY
sopo
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2004, 06:56:55 PM »

Dear Pancake     Thx for the reply, it is appreciated. I tried what you said but then i could not dial out at all...to Int Ex or Out Ex.What i was really trying to do was understand what has changed and why, as much as bypass the problem.Last night i ran live update to Norton Int Security and downloaded some monstrously large file updates, although it was only 3or4 weeks since last doing it. So far this ( touch wood ) seems to have fixed the problem. I didn't think that it could be a Norton problem because it was trying to get me to dial out before my anti virus or firewall had loaded,( and i had disabled the auto update! )and it made me suspicious to say the least.
Is this a known glitch with the Norton software ? or do you think i have just hidden the problem until its ready to come back and haunt me ? Any help, advice or comments gratefully received.
Logged

 
sopo
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2004, 10:12:45 PM »

oh god.... i spoke too soon! After writing the above msg, i tried to shut my machine down,but it locked with only the windows logo on the screen.The only thing it would let me do is shove a pen in the reset...and yes, you ve guessed, as it booted itself up again.... the b****y dial up box was up again. please help, anybody, if you can.
Logged

 
Pancake
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +78/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3915


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2004, 12:14:09 AM »

Ok.Try one of these options. http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;175312
Logged

An Australian Member of

EDDY
sopo
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: January 09, 2004, 06:04:40 PM »

Hi Pancake...... thanks for replying and posting the web address for me, I really appreciate it!I have printed off the relevant pages there and will work through the possibilities until i find the one relevant to me. I will keep you updated on the progress. Thanks again.
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page June 07, 2019, 11:52:26 PM