MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Internet & Network Support arrow Security & Viruses arrow Topic: W32/pate virus
November 21, 2019, 11:39:30 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 21, 2019, 11:39:30 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Looking for cheap hardware and/or software?
Visit our new Online Store where you will be able to purchase from a reputable vendor by country.
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: W32/pate virus  (Read 3219 times)
StewiesMinions
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: January 15, 2004, 02:53:28 AM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: Win XP home
Problem Application Name & Version:Huh??? Win Xp home
Problem Hardware Make & Model:Huh??? Dell Dimension 8250
Error Messages: i dk if it is related or not but i get the missing cmd32.exe message


My computer started acting strange, closing Nortons Antivirus every time i opened it and closing iexplorer and some other apps. I downloaded stinger and it said i the W32/plate virus. I deleted the file that was said to have contained the virus but yet symptoms still continue.

Logged

 
Pancake
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +78/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3915


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2004, 03:38:31 AM »

Did you turn off System Restore before running Stinger.If not it would have been restored to the system again.Cant say I have heard of w32/plate virus
Logged

An Australian Member of

EDDY
StewiesMinions
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2004, 11:53:24 AM »

thats my bad i meant to type pate
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2004, 08:36:25 PM »

See http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/w32.pinfi.html for cleaning instructions.
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
StewiesMinions
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2004, 02:35:52 AM »

thanks a lot for the help. I havent tried what the site said yet but im sure it'll work. Thanks again.
                                                  -K. Hardy
Logged

 
maskanisafi
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2004, 10:48:44 AM »

Same problem with my machine..400mhz Intel Celeron, 128MB RAM, 10GB HardDisk, with two operating systems Windows XP and 2000 on different partitions. My win2000 is extremely slow while booting. My XP displays a 60 second shutdown message immediately after booting completely. I use "shutdown  -a" to thwart this transgression, but my windows media player won't start with an error displayed "Not enough memory to run this program". Is it possible I have a virus on my machine and probably a memory resident virus? Please help
Logged

 
Pancake
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +78/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3915


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: January 20, 2004, 01:29:57 PM »

Maskanisafi.
Using XP at 128mb is border line and you really need to upgrade to 250mb or more.That will help speed you up and solve some of your problems
Logged

An Australian Member of

EDDY
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: January 21, 2004, 07:49:18 PM »

Yes the MSBlast does this...http://www.f-secure.com/v-descs/msblast.shtml
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
maskanisafi
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: January 22, 2004, 11:55:00 AM »

quote:
Originally posted by Admin

Yes the MSBlast does this...http://www.f-secure.com/v-descs/msblast.shtml


Thanks for the tip. OOps more trouble. I did as advised on the site you have indicated. strangly enough after turning off system restore...Downloading all the patches..from Microsoft (Damn them they were told but too smart to listen)..and f-secure, I just get any installation done. The patches install upto to a point then vanish from the screen. Hey what's happening. I tried installing some other software and same thing happened.. Installation working  to some point (1% installed) them the vanishing act. Help if you can. Thanx ...
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #9 on: January 22, 2004, 04:06:31 PM »

Hi,

Are these apps using Windows Installer or InstallShield?
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
maskanisafi
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #10 on: January 25, 2004, 04:56:58 PM »

quote:
Originally posted by Admin

Hi,

Are these apps using Windows Installer or InstallShield?


Windows installer. Any Suggestions. Any ASSISTANCE WILL BE HIGHLY WELCOME.
Logged

 
maskanisafi
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #11 on: February 02, 2004, 10:05:15 AM »

quote:
Originally posted by Pancake

Maskanisafi.
Using XP at 128mb is border line and you really need to upgrade to 250mb or more.That will help speed you up and solve some of your problems



Great advice pancake. The speed of my comp. has indeed improved. But still the installer of windows xp refuses to work. I need to install the security patch from microsoft in order to plug the RPC hole. Unfortunately no installation. My machine is already infected with the MSBlast virus -> "YOUR MACHINE WIILL SHUTDOWN IN 60 SECONDS...."
POPS up. How do I recover the Windows installert ability in Windows XP?
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page July 24, 2018, 02:51:08 AM