MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Custom built PC NOT STARTING, BAD CPU?
December 13, 2019, 09:50:18 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 13, 2019, 09:50:18 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Got pics of your modded PC or want to show off your cool desktop, visit our new Show & Tell forum!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Custom built PC NOT STARTING, BAD CPU?  (Read 840 times)
CMP 2003
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: January 16, 2004, 01:14:51 AM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: XP HOME
Problem Application Name & Version:  
Problem Hardware Make & Model:    Intel Pentium 4 2.6C GHz 800Mhz FSB HT
Error Messages: None



After putting together all the parts for the pc I am building, I finally got the CPU in.

I have a Gigabyte 8IPE-1000 Pro  MOBO.   I plugged in all the cables and assembled the whole thing.
I turned on the PSU switch Pressed the Power button, and nothing
When I pressed the power button, all the HDD, Power and CD-RW LEDS lit up instantaneously then went out.
A RAM LED on the Mobo stayed lit, but no fans or anything was operating.
So I took the CPU out and tried the same process, and the same things happened.
After that precise test, i thought it might be a defective CPU.

If anyone can think of anything please Respond quickly, so that if i need to return the CPU i can fill out an RMA asap.

                        Thanks in Advance.
                               Josh

Logged

The Smart, The Powerfull, The Young.
steve
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2004, 11:21:48 AM »

Hi, to me it sounds like something is shorting....


 Make sure you have the power cables attached to the right slots for:
 HDD LED, PWR SWITCH, RST(reset) SWITCH, etc.  this could be the problem as you may be powering up with the reset switch??
Logged

 
CMP 2003
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2004, 12:22:20 PM »

I found out what it was,
i had a back usb pci typer card that plugged in the MOBO and it was in the wrong plug
Its all up and running now
Logged

The Smart, The Powerfull, The Young.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page June 17, 2018, 03:32:13 AM