MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: I/O ports
November 13, 2019, 12:06:08 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 13, 2019, 12:06:08 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Got pics of your modded PC or want to show off your cool desktop, visit our new Show & Tell forum!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: I/O ports  (Read 791 times)
gaz33
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 32


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: January 16, 2004, 10:54:28 AM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:



Hello,

I recently purchased a new cd drive to upgrade my old one.so while i was fitting it in i played about with the jumper setting on the motherboard and now none of the I/O ports are working.any help please?
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2004, 03:46:17 PM »

Hi,

First thing, the only jumper you need to change are on the cd drive itself.

Since you changed jumper settings on the motherboard and probably disabled your ports, you will need to verify each one by referencing to your motherboard manual or sometimes the jumper settings are marked on the motherboard right beside the jumper.
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
gaz33
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 32


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2004, 03:51:57 PM »

thanks a lot help appreciated
Logged

 
gaz33
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 32


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2004, 01:38:17 PM »

Hello,

The I/O ports are still not working.Does anybody know any other reasons why they may not be working?
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 19, 2004, 05:49:51 PM »

Hi,

Which I/O port are you having problems with? (e.g. serial ports, parallel port...)

Some older motherboards had the serial/parallel ports connected internally to the motherboard with a small ribbon cable intead of being built-in. If this is the case with your board, verify they are well attached.
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page June 23, 2018, 07:30:18 AM