MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Microsoft arrow Topic: software installation freezes - no error message
December 07, 2019, 10:39:35 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 07, 2019, 10:39:35 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
Welcome to MyTechSupport.ca! - Registration is FREE, so why not join our friendly community today?
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: software installation freezes - no error message  (Read 1163 times)
kmaddox
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: January 17, 2004, 09:10:36 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: Windows 98
Problem Application Name & Version: ?
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages: none
I first noticed the problem trying to install a game from CD. Autolaunch is no longer working for my CD-Rom drive (another topic maybe) so I open the file and click autorun.exe (as per instructions). I get the install box and click install.  After this the drive acts like it is starting then quits(not a drive problem). Nothing happens.  When I CNTR-ATL-DLT it shows a new program lsset_se running.  But the game never installs. Eventually I will get Msgsrv32(not responding). Since then I've downloaded a free game from the internet (Yahoo).  It downloaded fine but when I try to run it it freezes also.  I have deleted my McAfee Virus Protection and it still occurs. I've also reinstalled window98 it didn't help either. I have tried closing all programs that are running except for the necessary ones i.e. explorer and again nothing.  Also, recently I have been having trouble shutting my system down because of (not responding) messages.  I can't find anything on my specific problem.  Can anyone help? P.S.  This is a new problem I've successfully installed software in the past.  Could it be a virus?
Logged

 
Pancake
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +78/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3915


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2004, 06:23:32 AM »

Just check that it is not a trojan http://simplysup.com/ if not try this because this behavior can occur when power management is enabled, and you have issues with programs not responding correctly to power management commands, for example, screen saver programs.
Disable power management.  Click Start/Settings/Control Panel, and then double-click Power.
In the Power Management box, click Off (or click the "Allow windows to manage power on this computer" check box to clear it).
Click OK.
Restart the computer.
If the behavior continues to occur, follow these additional steps:
In Control Panel, double-click System.
On the Device Manager tab, double-click the System Devices branch to expand it.
Double-click Advanced Power Management Support.
On the Settings tab, click the Enable Power Management Support check box to clear it, and then click OK.
Click OK.
Logged

An Australian Member of

EDDY
kmaddox
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2004, 07:41:35 PM »

Thank you, Pancake for responding.  I currently do not have a screen saver active but I tried the Power Management problem previously and although my OS doesn't follow those exact instructions I believe it's not that.  As for looking for the trojan, I cannot go that route because I have discovered that I cannot execute any program that has been recently downloaded to my computer (if I can load it at all).  Only anything that has been loaded prior to this problem occurring will run. I believe this problem started when my company required that I load McAfee on my home computer to access there server.  I have since removed it feeling this was the problem however I cannot load it back because of this problem I am having. I don't want to get as drastic as reformatting my hard drive and reinstalling windows but that may be what I have to do.  I thought that there might be someone here who has had a similar problem resolved.  Thanks for your time though. K
Logged

 
kmaddox
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2004, 04:24:24 AM »

HURRAY!!! After many hours of research on the net. I have discovered the problem.  The culprit?  REALONE player.  I uninstalled it and everything zips right along. Apparently it was hogging my resources even inactive. I hope that this post can help someone else with a similar problem.
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page July 24, 2018, 01:23:07 AM