MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Error message slave drive HDD error
November 21, 2019, 06:25:06 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 21, 2019, 06:25:06 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
Article Writers We are looking for quality, informational articles to add to our Computer Articles
Please contact us if you are interested in submitting some....
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Error message slave drive HDD error  (Read 1780 times)
happyjackseven
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: January 18, 2004, 03:55:26 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:



Error message Slave HDD Error
Sec Master Drive ATAPI incompatable
Hi I have installed a new 40 g hard drive  using data lifeguard from western digital,and have coppied files ok and changed the original drive Fujitsu mpa3026atu to slave (I think).On booting I have to press F1 and the system boots up but will only see the new drive.The jumper setting on the Fujitu are very unclear,does anyone know what the jumper settings should be? is this my problem?....win98se  
Logged

 
Pancake
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +78/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3915


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2004, 04:03:20 AM »

If your not sure of your jumper settings your model is here. http://www.fcpa.com/products/discontinued-products/index.html#hard-drives. Look for MPA3xxxAT Series
Logged

An Australian Member of

EDDY
happyjackseven
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2004, 05:56:07 PM »

Hi Pancake and thanks for taking the trouble to repy.
I now have the correct jumper settings on my slave
However, I now get on starting up

Pri Master western digital
     ultra DMA  Mode 2 SMART capable and status ok

Pri Slave Fujitsu
     Ultra DMA Mode 2 smart 2 capable and status ok
Pri Slave HDD Error
Press F1 to resume

It then boots up.......
I have noticed thar the slave drive is not shown in "my computer"
I have coppied all of my files includung the operating system win98 se
to my new hard drive could this be the problem.........

John
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2004, 07:54:46 PM »

Hi,

Is the Western Digital drive still set to stand-alone jumper setting (default - jumper set sideways) or did you change it to MASTER?
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Pancake
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +78/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3915


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2004, 12:02:52 AM »

If you formated the WD drive and installed the operating system then there should be no problem.What you could try is disable the slave in the Device Manager and reboot and 98 should find and install it.
Logged

An Australian Member of

EDDY
Pancake
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +78/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3915


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2004, 12:34:29 AM »

Further to what Admin was saying I came across this on WD forum..

These drives have unique jumper settings compared to most of the other manufactured drive companies.
You should set the main drive as Master ONLY when a Slave Drive exists on the same IDE cable.
If you only have 1 drive on the IDE cable then remove the jumper completely!

Or use the Cable Select jumper and USUALLY the BIOS will select the drive for you. This doesn't always work properly or select the drive that you want. It's based on which connector each drive is connected to...the END connector is usually selected as the Master in this case.
Logged

An Australian Member of

EDDY
happyjackseven
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: January 20, 2004, 05:32:52 PM »

Hi Sylain,
I have changed the Western digital jumper to master,both the drives are on the same IDE....

Hi Pancake,I have had a look in Device Manager and their is a yellow exclamation mark againt the primary IDE controller dual (fifo) I have tried updating the driver but windows says I already have the best driver installed

I think I am out of my depth......

John.
Logged

 
Pancake
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +78/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3915


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: January 21, 2004, 12:46:01 AM »

This is maybe what you are after.
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;151911
Logged

An Australian Member of

EDDY
happyjackseven
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: January 21, 2004, 06:18:57 PM »

Thanks Pancake,
You identified the problem, sorted ....

John


Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page July 24, 2018, 07:39:31 PM