MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Application Problems arrow Topic: Can't access BIOS utilities
December 07, 2019, 02:18:28 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 07, 2019, 02:18:28 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  New Poll on our main page!
"My experience with Vista..."
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Can't access BIOS utilities  (Read 1530 times)
Mark
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: January 18, 2004, 05:22:01 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: Windows XP Home Version
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model: Compaq Presario 7360
Error Messages: none



I believe that the startup settings in my BIOS are not correct. The reason I say that is because the system is not booting up from the CD when needed. I have read that I should be able to access the BIOS by pressing the f1 or f10 key when the COMPAQ logo appears at startup. But none of the f keys bring up the BIOS. Is there another method of accessing the BIOS or utilities so that I can check out and change, if needed, my startup options?
Thanks a bunch for your help.
Mark

Logged

 
Pancake
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +78/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3915


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2004, 04:25:23 AM »

It should be f10.Try it before the logo.
Logged

An Australian Member of

EDDY
Doctor Smith
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 718


Dumb questions welcomed


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2004, 01:48:04 PM »

Yes atart hitting the F10 or DEL key many times as soon as you turn on the computer.

DON"T WAIT for anything!
Logged




Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2004, 07:23:28 PM »

Hi,

If you get a white square cursor blinking in the top right corner during bootup (before the OS loads) then this is when the <F10> key should be pressed on a Compaq.
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
ashutoshtyagi
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2004, 01:30:33 PM »

hi,
do u have a recovery cd with u . boot through it and then press F10 at red compaq logo
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page June 13, 2018, 12:48:30 PM