MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: HARD DRIVE COMPATIBILITY?
August 23, 2019, 07:35:24 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 23, 2019, 07:35:24 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
Welcome to MyTechSupport.ca! - Registration is FREE, so why not join our friendly community today?
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: HARD DRIVE COMPATIBILITY?  (Read 672 times)
sirenuk
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: January 19, 2004, 09:35:13 AM »

I have an old IBM pc with a bad hard drive.  I want to buy a new (and bigger) drive to make the machine usable again.  The hard drive originally in it is a Quantum Bigfoot 5.25" 4.1 gig.  Can I use any brand of hard drive?  I know I can get brackets if I buy the smaller 3.5 kind and I wanted about 20 gig.  Am I likely to have compatibility problems?

Many thanks - as you might guess this is my first upgrade attempt!
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2004, 02:20:59 PM »

Hi,

You can use any 3.5" hard drive but you may have a size limitation by your BIOS. Install the new drive and then go into the BIOS Setup (probably <F1> or <F10> on bootup) then try to auto-detect the new drive. If the full drive capacity is not seen, then you will have to either find a BIOS update that supports large drives or use a Drive Overlay (Disk Manager) which should be supplied when you buy the hard drive. The drive overlay software will write the hard drive parameters (cyl, sec and head) to the drive and the translation will be done by the overlay instead of from the BIOS.

The best way is to have the BIOS hold the drive parameter because a boot sector virus could wipe the overlay and the whole drive's contents (data)

Let me know the model of your IBM and I will see if there is any BIOS update or if it will work without the overlay software
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page December 20, 2018, 04:28:19 PM