MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Computer being difficult, Need Help!
December 15, 2019, 05:25:31 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 15, 2019, 05:25:31 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  We now offer MyTechSupport.ca Merchandise! Every purchase goes towards maintaining our site.
Thank you for supporting MyTechSupport.ca!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Computer being difficult, Need Help!  (Read 1683 times)
Aceski
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: January 21, 2004, 08:29:04 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:



Im not sure exactly what the problem could be, but here goes.
My buddy recently installed a new asus Radeon 9600 3d Card, and a stick of 512 pc 2700 ram. Prior to this his computer ran fine. The newly installed devices run fine as well, however his computer now speractically restarts, and freezes up.

I've look at the hardware and everything appears fine, all the connections are fine and everything appears to run as normal, but for some reason his computer as I said has started to do odd things. A virus scan was done, and turned up nothing, I don't know if its his motherbored which does not appear to be very great, the CD drive, or what. The problem is it all worked fine before and now it dosent.

Any ideas as to what I could do would be great.
Logged

 
Pancake
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +78/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3915


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2004, 04:04:48 AM »

Can you put back your old ram as a test.It might be the new one thats not compatible.
Logged

An Australian Member of

EDDY
Doctor Smith
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 718


Dumb questions welcomed


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2004, 02:38:44 PM »

Have you changed your BIOS settings to match the new hardware?Huh??
Logged




Aceski
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2004, 03:57:05 PM »

To answer the questions, I did try putting the old ram back in, and the problem still persisted, as for changing anything in the bios I did not.

Logged

 
Moshebagelfresser
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 22, 2004, 03:59:13 PM »

Usually when a computer freezes then the possibility is that the CPU is running at too high a temperature. If your Bios can inform you of the temperature, then there are a number of window programs that reliably tell you the temp. It could be that the fan speed is on the low side of 6000 rpm, as they are not expensive I would be tempted to change the CPU fan.
Logged

 
Moshebagelfresser
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 13


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: January 22, 2004, 04:00:43 PM »

AMD from what I know need strong cooling further to my reply, of course I could be wrong.
Logged

 
Aceski
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: January 22, 2004, 04:02:18 PM »

Change the fan eh, sounds like an idea, but im puzzeled as to why I'd have to change or fix it all of a sudden. Ill look into it maybe something got accedentally messed up with the fan speeds but I doubt it.
Logged

 
Pancake
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +78/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3915


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: January 23, 2004, 12:25:50 AM »

AMD Athlon will run at 50-60 without any problem.What make is you mobo.
Logged

An Australian Member of

EDDY
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: January 23, 2004, 02:11:41 PM »

Hi,

When the new video card was installed, did you use the drivers provided on CD? If so, check to see if Asus has an updated driver for that card.
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Doctor Smith
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 718


Dumb questions welcomed


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #9 on: January 23, 2004, 02:46:27 PM »

I don't think heat is a problem here. I feel that the RAM may need to have the speed setting changed in the BIOS and perhaps it might be a good idea to check to see whether the Graphics Aperture setting in the BIOS matches the RAM amount on your MoBo

Can you tell me these important things....
PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:


...which you have not included.
Logged




Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page June 19, 2018, 07:50:40 AM