MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Microsoft arrow Topic: Fresh install of XP Pro no workie
July 17, 2019, 01:49:28 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
July 17, 2019, 01:49:28 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  New Poll on our main page!
"My experience with Vista..."
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Fresh install of XP Pro no workie  (Read 1281 times)
LT5001987
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: February 02, 2004, 05:43:46 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:XP Pro
Problem Application Name & Version:Xp Pro
Problem Hardware Make & Model:Doesn't seem to have a HW problem
Error Messages:None!



Please note that I did a search before I posted and found no solution, though I did find similar problems others are having.

I wiped my disk clean and installed XP Pro fresh.  Now that it is installed, I have no problem booting in safe mode but can not get past the Windows XP screen if .NOT. safemode ( I write FORTRAN for a living, can you tell?)  What is going on?  The screen simply goes black.  When in Safe Mode, I checked the device manager and everything seems fine.  That is, everything is recognized and there are no !! next to anything.  

I wiped the disk again and started over.  The same thing happened.  Any help anyone can provide would be appreciated.  Thank you.
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2004, 01:18:44 AM »

Hi,

Did you install any hardware drivers or up the WinXP native drivers?
Does this problem occur right after the last reboot of WinXP setup?

If this happens after installing an application, then try a Diagnostics Startup Mode and let us know that works
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
LT5001987
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2004, 01:11:52 PM »

No I did not install any hardware drivers.

This happens during any reboot.

On this board I found someone who had a similar problem.  I sent her an email and she actually replied to me.  She said that her problem was with her video card.  She put in a different card and the problem went away.  I am going to try this.  I'll keep everyone posted.
Logged

 
Blaze
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 15


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2004, 02:43:43 AM »

Well...I don't know if it can be the video card. It might be but then again it works with safe mode and not with a normal boot. Unless you had a very cheap card and was looking to replace it, I don't think you should spend 300 bucks on something that probably won't solve the issue. It might who knows...computers are very sensitive and things that are off the issue can fix it. Like once I couldn't get into this website, so I download Mozilla and all of sudden...bloop...it works on IE all of a sudden. Microsoft is very wierd...sometimes the programmers don't even know what the hell the problem is Tongue
Logged

 
LT5001987
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2004, 01:25:18 PM »

Thanks to all.  I replaced the video card and the problem went away.  I had an Nvidia card (Diamond AGP) and I installed an s3 virge PCI card and the thing works like a champ now.  

Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: February 09, 2004, 02:41:03 PM »

Great! Glad to hear you solved your problem!

Thanks for the update! Grin
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page October 08, 2018, 07:19:41 AM