MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Microsoft arrow Topic: XP Pro won't start
November 20, 2019, 01:43:23 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 20, 2019, 01:43:23 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  New Poll on our main page!
"My experience with Vista..."
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: XP Pro won't start  (Read 864 times)
ama128
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: February 06, 2004, 08:44:42 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:



I have had my Compaq Presario laptop for exactly a month now and Windows XP Professional was preloaded when I purchased it. Yesterday, after disconnecting from the internet and turning off my computer, having experienced no problems then, I turned the computer on a few hours later to discover that only my background would load. No icons, start menu, etc. appeared. After restarting several times in normal mode, I hit ctrl+alt+delete and compared the processes running with any known viruses. Everything seemed normal. I finally restarted in Safe Mode and ran Norton AntiVirus. No files had been infected.
I started the computer today to have the same problem.
I don't know what's wrong or how to fix the problem. Please help!!!
Thank you.
Logged

 
Gazruss
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2004, 08:52:53 PM »

hi there

i had this problem a few times after running an anti virus program,
the only fix i found was to do a system restore to just before you turned the pc off

i hope this helps
Logged

 
ama128
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2004, 09:58:12 PM »

It happened before I ran the antivirus program.
I just ran that to make sure there wasn't a virus. It says there isn't. So what's the problem? And how do I fix it?
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2004, 02:30:56 PM »

Thread continues here:
http://www.mytechsupport.ca/index.php?option=com_smf&Itemid=42&topic=2546
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page June 19, 2018, 02:42:40 AM