MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Internet & Network Support arrow Networking Problems arrow Topic: Next step in Network TroubleShooting
September 20, 2019, 05:39:39 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 20, 2019, 05:39:39 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  Looking for cheap hardware and/or software?
Visit our new Online Store where you will be able to purchase from a reputable vendor by country.
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Next step in Network TroubleShooting  (Read 1146 times)
Faqt
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: February 08, 2004, 08:07:31 AM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:




Home network using Internet Connection Sharing and dial up Internet.
ICS Host:
Windows XP home, Conexant V.90 modem, netgear Fast Ethernet PCI Card.
ICS Client:
Windows ME, Realtek PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter
Problem: Windows ME box cannot load web pages (except google.com and MSN.com)

Okay, this is my first attempt at networking and I'm not too terribly experienced with computers, so please bare with me while I try and explain everything I've tried so far.

-I can ping loopback address on both computers
-I can ping between the two of them
-I can access shared folders from and on both systems.
-I can ping DNS Server IP from both systems
-I can ping DNS Server name from both systems
-I can tracert to DNS server from both computers. (from host shows one timed out hop, then server/ from client shows Host, one timed out hop, then server.)

I'm stuck at this point...I see no reason for the client not being able to load pages.

*a side note that may be important, I've found that I am unable (from either system) to ping any ip other than DNS and my ISP servers.
I can run a utility to ping, I can run a port scanner and have results returned....but can't ping from command prompt in windows.

Ideas links suggestions....??

Logged

Faqt
------------------
<unknown>has caused an error in <unknown>. <unknown>will now close.
Faqt
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2004, 12:11:28 AM »

resolved
Logged

Faqt
------------------
<unknown>has caused an error in <unknown>. <unknown>will now close.
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2004, 01:51:56 PM »

Continues here:
http://www.mytechsupport.ca/index.php?option=com_smf&Itemid=42&topic=2560
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page July 14, 2017, 11:44:12 AM