MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Please Help!! PC won't install
September 20, 2019, 01:58:42 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 20, 2019, 01:58:42 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  New Poll on our main page!
"My experience with Vista..."
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Please Help!! PC won't install  (Read 824 times)
Ken
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: February 09, 2004, 11:52:44 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:Windows XP Pro
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:
I am trying to install Windows XP Pro and i can't get my CDRW drive or my DVD/r drives 2 boot. Both drives i got from an e-machines. I am using an
ASUS A78XNE-Deluxe motherboard
Athlon XP
(2)PC2700 512mb DDR memory with heatsinks
PNY 5200 128mb AGP
120gb Western Digital HDD
40gb Western Digital  HDD
currently i have on IDE1 i have the 120g and my DVD
on IDE2 i have the 40g and the CDRW.

The Asus board has SATA RAID capabilities but is not hooked up 2 either drive. Windows XP Pro has been on the system before and I am trying to start over doing a clean install. The 120GWD drive has been partitioned and on of those partitions is formatted FAT32. When Windows XP was previously on it, it was NTFS.The 40gWD is brand new and unformatted. If I boot into DOS with a Windows 98 boot disk I can see the information on the optical drive via the 'HELP' command yet neither optical drive will boot, through boot 1st priority. I purchased a TDK DVD/RW and tried that but I can't even get that one 2 open.
Is this a configuration problem or a compatibility problem. Please help. Thank You


Logged

 
xolanipaul
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2004, 09:15:07 AM »

Hi,

to eliminate the configuration issue, try a simpler configuration. Hook up just one HD, one of your drives (CR/RW or DVD). on IDE1 and IDE2. check that the BIOS can see both drives, modify boot sequence and give it a go!
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page September 01, 2018, 07:32:38 PM