MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: CPU freeze up
October 23, 2019, 09:35:13 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 23, 2019, 09:35:13 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  New Poll on our main page!
"My experience with Vista..."
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: CPU freeze up  (Read 1167 times)
wildirish24
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 2


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: February 10, 2004, 12:54:48 AM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:




My CPU reaches 100% usuage and the computer freezws up.   I am now unable to view webpages, install programs, etc. that I was previously able to do without a problem.

This happens with only one or two small programs running.

I have removed all unnecessary programs from my startup this doesn't help.


Rebooting does NOT help.

Can you tell me what the problem is and how to fix it.  




Logged

Maureen
Blaze
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 15


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2004, 03:00:03 AM »

Have you tried checking it for spyware or adware?

If not go here, http://www.mytechsupport.ca/index.php?option=com_smf&Itemid=42&topic=1226. Thanks, Admin-guy(no offense, don't know what to call you:P),saves a lot of time to send them to the thread than give them the link.

Try cleaning out some of your junk. Btw, what is your OS?

If it's XP, try this:
* Click [Start] | Run and type MSCONFIG.  Click [OK]
* On the Startup tab, click [Disable All] | [OK].
* On the Services tab, check "Hide All Microsoft Services"
* Click [Disable All] | [Close]
* Click [Yes] to restart at the prompt.
Logged

 
wildirish24
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 2


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2004, 03:12:36 AM »

THANKS BLAZE

I ran both adaware and spybot search and destroy... So currently I am free of spyware according to these programs.

I also disabled all of the startup items as suggested.

It seems a wee bit better.  But it still freezes up on some pages especially those with JavaScript and Java applets
Logged

Maureen
lbtanny
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 88


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2004, 03:33:53 AM »

Possible proccesor problem
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page August 11, 2018, 09:24:48 AM