MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Internet & Network Support arrow Security & Viruses arrow Topic: Worm kwbot problems, computer won't start
July 23, 2019, 07:14:47 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
July 23, 2019, 07:14:47 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
Help us help you! Help us help you by helping out! The more people know about us, the more help will be available. Click here to find out how...
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Worm kwbot problems, computer won't start  (Read 2094 times)
iamvj
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 9


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: February 10, 2004, 07:21:48 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: Windows XP
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model: Dell Inspiron 8000
Error Messages:



I recently had problems with a virus on my computer.  After using the free online scanner, http://housecall.trendmicro.com , the virus worm_kwbot was found to have infected all of my restore points files.  I deleted these infected files, realizing later that it probably wasn't a good idea.  Now when I try to start up my computer, I'm prompted to a password screen.  After typing in my password, it begins to open my profile, then logs off very quickly and reutrns me to the password screen.  This is the same for the Administrator user.

I have Windows XP.  I already tried repairing windows XP using the installation disc, but it doesn't help.  What should I do?
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2004, 07:47:05 PM »

Can you bootup in Safe-Mode (hit <F8> right before Windows logo screen on bootup)?
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
iamvj
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 9


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2004, 04:03:02 AM »

When I try to boot up in safe mode, it still brings me to the password prompt, and the same problem results
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2004, 02:11:03 PM »

Hi,

Do you remember what files were deleted?
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
iamvj
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 9


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 11, 2004, 03:18:32 PM »

There were 102 files infected that I deleted.  They all were named "restore_point" with numbers after them.  Possibly a file for each restore point I had?
Logged

 
iamvj
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 9


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: February 12, 2004, 05:29:32 AM »

If I reinstall Windows XP, will I lose all of my personal files on the hard drive?
Logged

 
Pancake
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +78/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3915


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: February 12, 2004, 08:08:09 AM »

You dont have to loose all your files.Boot from your XP disc and choose "Upgrade" that way all will remain intact and you wont loose your files. This is an option open to you.
Logged

An Australian Member of

EDDY
iamvj
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 9


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: February 12, 2004, 06:42:56 PM »

Pancake,

How do boot from my XP disc and choose "upgrade"?  When I boot from the XP disc, it gives me the option to repair windows (which I tried and it didn't work) or to install a fresh copy of Windows XP without repairing.
Logged

 
iamvj
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 9


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: February 12, 2004, 07:36:15 PM »

Hey, I figured out how to boot using the "upgrade" and it worked!  Thanks for all the help!
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #9 on: February 12, 2004, 08:09:01 PM »

That's great! Glad you got it working! Grin
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page June 16, 2018, 05:56:29 AM