MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Floppy runs & computer freezes!
September 17, 2019, 05:40:42 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 17, 2019, 05:40:42 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  We now offer MyTechSupport.ca Merchandise! Every purchase goes towards maintaining our site.
Thank you for supporting MyTechSupport.ca!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Floppy runs & computer freezes!  (Read 717 times)
tygercsw
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: February 18, 2004, 04:31:19 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: WIndows XP SP-1
Problem Application Name & Version: Freezing - any application; floppy runs on startup of Windows
Problem Hardware Make & Model: Mitsumi Floppy Drive
Error Messages: For Floppy - every time I boot up the computer, the floppy runs and runs. You have to put a floppy in the drive to get it to quiet down, but then it constantly scans the floppy and slows down the computer. First I replaced the floppy (twice), then the floppy cable (3 times). Mind you that this computer has all brand new parts in it - everything has been recently replaced. I thought that Norton Auto-protect was the problem, so i disabled that. That worked for 2 weeks but now it is doing it again. I am going to completely uninstall Norton Systemworks to see if it goes away, but I am not sure if that will help at all. Also, if the computer is not used for a while it will freeze up while in the screensaver or it will freeze up while opening a program. The video card was replaced with a totally different card and the latest drivers are installed, so I am not sure if that is related to the other problem or not. Any thoughts would be great! I have a P4 2.4 GHz processor with an 80GB HD and 512MB RAM. Thank you!



Logged

 
Vasilis Siourounis
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 11


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2004, 09:21:32 PM »

Right-click on the floppy icon [or any drive-related icon] under "My Computer".
Click properties, select "hardware" and double click [or right click] floppy to bring up it's properties. In the "device usage" tab, select disable. Not sure, but it could work.
Logged

 
Pancake
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +78/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3915


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2004, 12:34:10 AM »

Norton could be set to check the floppy at startup.It may even need to be reset in the bios.Read this http://home.earthlink.net/~leetutor/FixWin/UpDown/floppy.htm
Logged

An Australian Member of

EDDY
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page November 04, 2017, 06:09:13 AM