MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Internet & Network Support arrow Internet & Email arrow Topic: Content Advisor error message
October 23, 2019, 01:12:19 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 23, 2019, 01:12:19 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Check out our improved Download section for tons of software....
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Content Advisor error message  (Read 2158 times)
ed3173
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: February 20, 2004, 11:04:26 PM »

u]PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:[/u]
Operating System Version:Win ME
Problem Application Name & Version: IE5
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages: "Content Advisor:  Please check your content advisor settings for missing information.  Click the Tools menu and then click Internet Options.  On the content tab, check the Content Advisor settings."

When trying to connect my son's computer to the internet, I get the above message.  I changed his security content a few months ago to block out "inoffensive messages" and it worked fine.  However, a few weeks ago this message appeared.  I click on the Content Advisor settings and they are all set to zero.  I move them up and it still will not let me log on.  Often, but not always, the settings will revert back to zero settings.  I know the internet connection is working because I can "ping" the atomic clock website.  There have been no new downloads/hardware installed on this computer.  I have re-installed Windows ME, but to no avail.  Please help!



Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2004, 07:46:42 PM »

Hi,

Sounds like a bug in IE5. Since there are many bugs and security wholes in IE5, I would upgrade to IE6 SP1.
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ie/downloads/critical/ie6sp1/default.asp
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
ed3173
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2004, 09:02:56 PM »

It worked, thank you.
Logged

 
marya
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2005, 12:24:43 AM »

Operating System Version:Win 98 sec ed.
Problem Application Name & Version: IE5
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages: "Content Advisor: Please check your content advisor settings for missing information. Click the Tools menu and then click Internet Options. On the content tab, check the Content Advisor settings."

I am getting this error message everytime I try to get online. I don't think I changed anything in the content advisor. I just want to know how to get rid of this problem and I am wondering if an upgrade to IE 6 would take care of this problem? I have tried everything I can think of to get rid of this problem. Please Help!
Logged

 
ed3173
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2005, 03:54:16 AM »

quote:
Originally posted by marya

Operating System Version:Win 98 sec ed.
Problem Application Name & Version: IE5
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages: "Content Advisor: Please check your content advisor settings for missing information. Click the Tools menu and then click Internet Options. On the content tab, check the Content Advisor settings."

I am getting this error message everytime I try to get online. I don't think I changed anything in the content advisor. I just want to know how to get rid of this problem and I am wondering if an upgrade to IE 6 would take care of this problem? I have tried everything I can think of to get rid of this problem. Please Help!

Logged

 
ed3173
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: January 09, 2005, 04:02:20 AM »

The upgrade to IE 6 worked.  click on the link in the string to go to the webpage to get the upgrade.  Good luck.
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page June 12, 2018, 01:27:57 PM