MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Gateway boot problem
June 26, 2019, 05:28:13 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
June 26, 2019, 05:28:13 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  Got pics of your modded PC or want to show off your cool desktop, visit our new Show & Tell forum!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Gateway boot problem  (Read 1338 times)
dashhoju
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 8


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: February 25, 2004, 02:10:27 AM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:98SE
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:


I've got a pretty sticky problem. I got a Gateway select 900 in a deal where I bought one used computer and the people I got it from threw in the Gateway for free. They didn't know anything about it. It has the sticker on the side that has the keycode for 98se, so I'm sure thats what the operating system is. It has a jabil amd mobo #4000646, 256 mbs of ram,  AMD Athlon "Thunderbird" 900-MHz Processor with 256K cache Revision 2, 20gb hdd, dvd player, cdrw yadda yadda. Here's the problem. I can't get it to boot. When I turn it on, I see the screen where it shows 32.0 mbs ram very shortly then the Gateway splash screen then nothing. I can hear the hdd spinning. I have reseated cpu, ram, vid card. I've tried f2, f8, f11, alt-del, alt, ctrl, del-no go. I put a known-good hdd in there and no go. I cleared the cmos-no go. I'm out of ideas. Any clue what I might try next? Thank's in advance. I'd really like to get this computer running-He's a great guy, love him to pieces,but im tired of sharing a computer with my hubby. Besides I'd like to try my hand at a home network.  [Part #2509693]  
 
 
 
 
Logged

 
dashhoju
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 8


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2004, 03:02:20 AM »

I forgot to add that there are No beeps at all. It doesn't seem to post. The 32 mbs it sees in the first screen has to do with the vid card. Then the screen goes black for a blink, then the Gateway splash screen comes up, then nothing. Thanks again.
 
Logged

 
sj1184
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 323


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 29, 2004, 03:06:04 AM »

Hi DH,
Take a look at this.
http://support.gateway.com/support/techdocs/motherboard/1013.shtml
After trying this & still no go,then possibly a bad mobo,bad cpu, or bad ram.
Take care.
Logged

Sandy
dashhoju
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 8


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 29, 2004, 03:31:53 AM »

Ok, I tried all that.The ram is good, I've put it in my machine and it runs great, the video is fine too- I've tried it with 3 different monitors. I tried a different cpu from a local guy who had one and wasn't sure if it was any good or not.The one he gave me got hot as hell when I tried to run it- real hot and stunk like burnt plastic. So.I figured it was bad and tossed it.The one that was in it didn't get hot like that. So, Anyway... I know when I'm licked, so I took it to the DR., lol. He's supposed to call me Monday with a diagnosis. I'll post what he says, as this is a learning process for me and maybe it'll help somebody else who has the same issue later. Thanks...Shirley
Logged

 
sj1184
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 323


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 29, 2004, 03:47:17 AM »

You're welcome Shirley.
Since the ram checked ok,that leaves the cpu or mobo.Lets see what the dr says.
Take care.
Logged

Sandy
dashhoju
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 8


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2004, 02:46:28 PM »

Ok, I finally heard from the Dr last night- It's a bad mobo. I ordered a new mobo-cpu combo for it, so it'll be up and running in a few days. Thank's for the input...Shirley
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page November 11, 2016, 06:48:39 AM