MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Microsoft arrow Topic: Explorer has caused an error in Browseui.dll
April 23, 2019, 03:37:54 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 23, 2019, 03:37:54 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  Got pics of your modded PC or want to show off your cool desktop, visit our new Show & Tell forum!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Explorer has caused an error in Browseui.dll  (Read 1291 times)
Gruven
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: February 28, 2004, 04:58:11 PM »

My computer was running slow and doing odd things once in a while so I thought I would just reinstall windows.  The install quit half way through and after restarting it I got the error "Explorer has caused an error in Browseui.dll.  Explorer will now close".  Since then I did get windows reinstalled plus I also reinstalled Internet Explorer.  I read up on the error and I think it is to do with the registry.  I have ran Regclean, regedit /fix and scanreg.  They found and repaired some errors but my error still comes up when I restart the computer. I an running Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)and Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106).  I attached a copy of the log from Hijack if it helps.  Any help would be great.

Thanks
Gruven

Download Attachment: hijackthis.txt 4.7
Logged

 
benditup
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2105


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2004, 09:25:54 PM »

In task manager(Ctrl--Alt-Del) close down all other unnecessary
programs running in the background..End task on everything except for
Explorer and Systray.
Next----Go to Start---Run..Type in  Scanreg /opt /fix
notice the spaces.
Or try it Microsofts way..
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;q289799

I don't use Windows Me, but can I suggest a clean install instead
of a reinstall over top.











Logged

 
Gruven
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 29, 2004, 07:30:45 PM »

Nothing worked to fix the error so I did the Clean Install.  It didn't take to long, I got all the disks and programs i wanted to install first and did it.  About 8 hours later everything I had before was installed and hey, now it runs faster too.

Thanks for the help and advice
Gruven
« Last Edit: February 29, 2004, 07:31:58 PM by Gruven » Logged

 
benditup
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2105


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 29, 2004, 07:40:41 PM »

Good work Gruven, I like to do a clean install about once a
year....That's just me, some wait longer, some seem to do it
once a month:)

Anyways, thanx for posting back
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page June 04, 2017, 11:00:48 AM