MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Microsoft arrow Topic: trouble with color display
April 07, 2020, 05:49:06 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 07, 2020, 05:49:06 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Got pics of your modded PC or want to show off your cool desktop, visit our new Show & Tell forum!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: trouble with color display  (Read 707 times)
greg stevens
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: March 07, 2004, 06:28:39 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:windows me
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:



i am having problems with display graphic. i try to reset
display from 16 bits to 256 color but system go right back to 16 bit
please HELP!!:(
Logged

 
MJL54
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 37


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2004, 06:58:49 PM »

Your video driver is probably corrupted.  Try this: Go into Control Panel/System Properties/Device Manager.  Click on Display Adapters.  That will expand the tree.  Click on the adapter/driver.  You can right-click, if you want, and choose DELETE.  Don't worry, nothing terrible's gonna happen.  The system will rebuild the driver information itself once you re-start the computer.  Having deleted the driver, select shutdown/restart.  To start up again in SAFE MODE, when you are about to go into WINDOWS - just as you hear the computer gearing up again - you can usually hear it checking the A drive - press F10 repeatedly until the MS-DOS screen shows up - that's the black screen that isn't WINDOWS.  You'll see some choices offered you.  Select SAFE MODE - just enter the number on the keyboard corresponding to that choice - I forget which one it is at the moment - and press ENTER.  To be sure, check with your computer manufacturer about SAFE MODE.  Once you've re-started, the system will rebuild the data base and you can re-set the configuration on your display panel.  You'll find that you'll have to re-start again - this time in NORMAL mode - in order to get back to and re-set the display adapter to the settings you want (they won't be available in SAFE MODE - SAFE MODE loads a "lean" version of WINDOWS for safety's sake, in case anything else is wrong in can be fixed without risk.  Please check with documentation you'll have in your possession from the manufacturer of your machine before attempting anything (especially if you haven't done it before).  It isn't difficult but it can be a little tricky.  Maybe someone else on this web site can offer additional help.
MJL54;D
Logged

 
MJL54
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 37


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2004, 07:04:07 PM »

Your video driver is probably corrupted. Try this: Go into Control Panel/System Properties/Device Manager. Click on Display Adapters. That will expand the tree. Click on the adapter/driver. You can right-click, if you want, and choose DELETE. Don't worry, nothing terrible's gonna happen. The system will rebuild the driver information itself once you re-start the computer. Having deleted the driver, select shutdown/restart. To start up again in SAFE MODE, when you are about to go into WINDOWS - just as you hear the computer gearing up again - you can usually hear it checking the A drive - press F10 repeatedly until the MS-DOS screen shows up - that's the black screen that isn't WINDOWS. You'll see some choices offered you. Select SAFE MODE - just enter the number on the keyboard corresponding to that choice - I forget which one it is at the moment - and press ENTER. To be sure, check with your computer manufacturer about SAFE MODE. Once you've re-started, the system will rebuild the data base and you can re-set the configuration on your display panel. You'll find that you'll have to re-start again - this time in NORMAL mode - in order to get back to and re-set the display adapter to the settings you want (they won't be available in SAFE MODE - SAFE MODE loads a "lean" version of WINDOWS for safety's sake, in case anything else is wrong in can be fixed without risk. Please check with documentation you'll have in your possession from the manufacturer of your machine before attempting anything (especially if you haven't done it before). It isn't difficult but it can be a little tricky. Maybe someone else on this web site can offer additional help.
MJL54
If there are two replies of mine here it's because I didn't log in the first time.
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page November 09, 2016, 07:09:37 AM