MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Linux / Unix arrow Topic: how to configure the modem
November 21, 2019, 07:21:18 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 21, 2019, 07:21:18 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Check out our improved Download section for tons of software....
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: how to configure the modem  (Read 2432 times)
Alok
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 213

Alok


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: March 12, 2004, 06:15:51 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:red hat linux 9
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:

could any one tell me how to set up a internet connection using my internal modem
ok the details are what i done so far.....
#dmesg | fgrep tty
i got ttyS00 at 0*03f8 (irq=4) is a 16550A
then i run this command
#stateserial /dev/ttyS0
then i try #set serial -a /dev/ttyS0
saying i have ...baud rate and ....
now i run
#kppp
then i got the graphical screen and configuration tools
but after supplying the password and login name it still says that you had not configured the modem
means i got hang
now kindly anyone who had done so tell me in step by step process how to do this task
thanking you
kindly tell me the command line or graphical option


Logged

ALOK TIWARI
mralokkp
tincan
Global Moderator
Sr. Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 178


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2004, 11:19:06 PM »

I would check and see if you have /dev/modem. Then in the device section of kppp, use /dev/modem for the modem device.

Check out this link, might help with getting kppp going.

http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/PPP-HOWTO/
Logged

http://www.opensourceinfo.org
OpenSource for an OpenMind.
http://www.moviehaven.ca
Your say about movies.
Alok
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 213

Alok


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2004, 11:11:21 AM »

no tin can the device is not in /dev/modem
Logged

ALOK TIWARI
mralokkp
tincan
Global Moderator
Sr. Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 178


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2004, 01:27:33 AM »

What kind of modem do you have?

Is it in a pci slot? on integrated to the motherboard? Is it a winmodem?
Logged

http://www.opensourceinfo.org
OpenSource for an OpenMind.
http://www.moviehaven.ca
Your say about movies.
Alok
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 213

Alok


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 04, 2004, 02:08:26 PM »

intregrated on the mother board
Logged

ALOK TIWARI
mralokkp
tincan
Global Moderator
Sr. Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 178


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: April 04, 2004, 06:07:17 PM »

Chances are this is a winmodem. To be honest, winmodems are a pain in the butt in linux. Could you tell me what chipset your modem has? Or maybe give me the make and model of your motherboard. From there I may be able help more.
Logged

http://www.opensourceinfo.org
OpenSource for an OpenMind.
http://www.moviehaven.ca
Your say about movies.
Alok
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 213

Alok


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: April 20, 2004, 06:11:59 PM »

hello tincan
i am using Pctel hsp56 modem version 016
and i am using a branded pc form zenith computers india
i baught it arround 3 years back
note it it works only on win98/me not even on xp/2000 server/2k ad server and upwards
and the model no of hardware i need to poke
Logged

ALOK TIWARI
mralokkp
tincan
Global Moderator
Sr. Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 178


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: May 02, 2004, 02:55:27 AM »

I looks like there is a driver available for linux. You can get the driver here:

http://linmodems.technion.ac.il/pctel-linux/

This thread might help you out as well.

http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/showthread.php?threadid=156578
Logged

http://www.opensourceinfo.org
OpenSource for an OpenMind.
http://www.moviehaven.ca
Your say about movies.
Alok
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 213

Alok


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: May 02, 2004, 03:27:15 AM »

Thanks a Lot Sir!
regards
Alok
Logged

ALOK TIWARI
mralokkp
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page July 23, 2018, 11:12:36 PM