MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Internet & Network Support arrow Internet & Email arrow Topic: system constantly sending data over connection
July 19, 2019, 04:56:06 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
July 19, 2019, 04:56:06 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  Looking for cheap hardware and/or software?
Visit our new Online Store where you will be able to purchase from a reputable vendor by country.
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: system constantly sending data over connection  (Read 979 times)
j_galley
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: March 13, 2004, 10:40:16 AM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:  
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:



Hi,

I have a problem where my PC constantly sends and receives data over my internet connection, even when I have no programs like Internet explorer or Outlook running. As soon as my dailer completes the connection, data starts flying without IE being on!! It feels like there is some dodgy worm or virus running in the background that i can't find... Consequently, when i do want to use IE, pages take AGES to load up!!! Also, my dialer pops up at odd moments to ask if I want to connect to the net - this happens at startup and several times after I've closed my connection - and it NEVER used to.....

I also now get error messages while running IE which say "Installer2 has caused an error in <unknown> Installer2 will now close."

Is something trying to be installed on my compuet without my knowledge?!?!!

I'm running Windows ME btw....


Has anyone any experience of this, and how can i get my PC back to normal!?!?!

Thanks

James
Logged

 
benditup
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2105


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2004, 07:32:01 PM »

Do you have any antivirus protection? If so which one,Norton has caused problems with wanting to
dial out on startup or shutdown......
Have you scanned for viral activity..
Have you scanned your system with a spyware checker?
Spybot and Adaware are good choices

Installer 2 may be Windows installer2 package.
Logged

 
j_galley
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2004, 11:43:10 AM »

I've been trying to find a 'spy' program to see which files are being accessed - I'll try those you've mentioned!

Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page March 21, 2017, 07:37:57 PM