MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Application Problems arrow Topic: MS-DOS memory problem
May 24, 2019, 01:43:35 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
May 24, 2019, 01:43:35 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
Welcome to MyTechSupport.ca! - Registration is FREE, so why not join our friendly community today?
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: MS-DOS memory problem  (Read 916 times)
nerdmeister
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: March 13, 2004, 10:28:15 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: Windows 98 SE
Problem Application Name & Version: MS DOS
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:There is not enough memory available to run this program. Quit one or more programs, and then try again.


Whenever I try to run anything in DOS (programs, prompt, batch files etc, I get an error message telling me there is not enough memory and that I should shut down some programs. I have 768 Mb RAM, running 98 SE. This problem only happens after I install my graphics card NVIDIA drivers. DOS programs work in DOS mode, but I can't get them to do anything from Windows. I've shut stuff down, I've cleared my RAM, I've done every trick I can think of.
(I'm extra annoyed that I can't use QBASIC)
Anyone out there with any idea on how to get them to work?
Logged

What? You mean lightsabres aren't real?
sj1184
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 323


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2004, 12:49:22 AM »

Hi NM,
Possibly too many things running in the background.
http://www.pacs-portal.co.uk/startup_content.php
Take care.
Logged

Sandy
nerdmeister
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2004, 02:11:03 PM »

Honestly, I've shut down as much as I can (everything, even my virus scanner when I'm offline). Ctrl-Alt-Delete has become my friend, as has an app called enditall. I still reckon it's something to do with the graphics drivers, because dos was fine until I installed them, but without them Windows does only 16 colours
Logged

What? You mean lightsabres aren't real?
nerdmeister
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2004, 02:12:44 PM »

thanks for trying though
Logged

What? You mean lightsabres aren't real?
sj1184
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 323


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2004, 06:54:35 PM »

quote:
Originally posted by nerdmeister

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: Windows 98 SE
Problem Application Name & Version: MS DOS
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:There is not enough memory available to run this program. Quit one or more programs, and then try again.


Whenever I try to run anything in DOS (programs, prompt, batch files etc, I get an error message telling me there is not enough memory and that I should shut down some programs. I have 768 Mb RAM, running 98 SE. This problem only happens after I install my graphics card NVIDIA drivers. DOS programs work in DOS mode, but I can't get them to do anything from Windows. I've shut stuff down, I've cleared my RAM, I've done every trick I can think of.
(I'm extra annoyed that I can't use QBASIC)
Anyone out there with any idea on how to get them to work?



Hi NM,
Before you installed your nvidia card,did you uninstall the old one?If you have on-board video,did you disable in in the bios?Go into safe mode,then go in the device manager & delete/remove all the video cards including the nvidia.Restart the computer,it'll detect new hardware,reinstall the drivers for the nvidia.
Take care.
Logged

Sandy
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page July 13, 2017, 07:14:28 AM