MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Computer Freezing...motherboard or something else?
April 25, 2019, 04:58:14 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 25, 2019, 04:58:14 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  We now offer MyTechSupport.ca Merchandise! Every purchase goes towards maintaining our site.
Thank you for supporting MyTechSupport.ca!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Computer Freezing...motherboard or something else?  (Read 1475 times)
scrin
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: March 16, 2004, 07:07:07 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: no OS at this time
Error Messages: NONE


I was given a Compaq Presario 5005CL by a co-worker recently with a problem.  It would freeze at random times, regardless of application running.  As I tried to update all drivers and such the problem got worse until I decided to wipe the hard drive and start over.  Imagine my surprise when it locked up during the format after booting from a CD. I then decided to try 2 different HDD, which had the same problem.  I removed the modem and network cards and replaced the video card with no improvement.  Then I flashed the BIOS with no effect.  All the fans and heat sinks seem to be in working order.

Where we stand now is a computer that only gets into the BIOS sometimes, and ALLWAYS gets in when a piece of hardware is added or removed.  When the computer doesn't work the monitor remains in power save mode and the keyboard is not recognized.  No USB devices are hooked up.

So, any ideas?  I think the motherboard is shot but I'd like to hear other opinions before I go out and start buying things and compaq tech suport is about as helpfull as a stoned badger.  Thanks in advance.

-Tom
Logged

 
sj1184
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 323


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2004, 08:55:07 PM »

Hi SC,
It sounds more like a bad power supply or memory rather then the mobo.
Take care.
Logged

Sandy
scrin
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2004, 09:20:27 PM »

didn't even think about the power supply.
i'm pretty sure the memory is good because i've had 2 different chips in there, but it never hurts to be positive.

thanks
Logged

 
sj1184
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 323


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2004, 02:09:57 AM »

You're welcome SC.Grin
Keep me posted.
Take care.Cool
Logged

Sandy
scrin
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2004, 02:38:26 PM »

ok, i replaced the memory.  no dice.  i used 3 different chips. Sad

replacing the power supply didn't change anything as well, but that ps is kind of suspect.  i'll see if i can sorce one from another computer thursday.
Logged

 
sj1184
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 323


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: March 17, 2004, 05:12:47 PM »

Hi SC,
After you try the new ps & it's still the same,then it must be the mobo cause you've done everything else.It also can be the cpu fan.If it's not running at the right speed,the computer will freeze.I asume you cleaned all the dust & animal dander(if you have pets) out.
Take care.
Take care
Logged

Sandy
scrin
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: March 17, 2004, 09:20:49 PM »

hmm...i'll have to get a new fan before i drop the ca$h for the mobo.  i think its working, but it never hurts to be safe
Logged

 
sj1184
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 323


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: March 18, 2004, 03:27:40 AM »

Hi SC,
It may look like it's working,but if it's not running correctly or it slows down,then speeds up,etc.This will cause freezing.The fans are inexpensive.If that's not the problem,then you'll have a backup fan which you'll use sooner or later.
Take care.
Logged

Sandy
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page November 11, 2016, 11:00:57 AM