MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Internet & Network Support arrow Networking Problems arrow Topic: McAfee VirusScan + Firewall Problem
March 27, 2019, 01:44:26 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
March 27, 2019, 01:44:26 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  Check out our improved Download section for tons of software....
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: McAfee VirusScan + Firewall Problem  (Read 1023 times)
nr3k
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: March 17, 2004, 03:08:43 AM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: Windows XP Home Edition (build 2600)
Problem Application Name & Version: McAfee VirusScan v6.02.1019.1
Problem Hardware Make & Model:Packard Bell NEC - iMedia W82530SDW
Error Messages:



I tried to install Norton Antivirus with McAfee AntiVirus still installed. So, Norton asked to remove McAfee first before installing the Norton Antivirus. After doing so, I installed Norton but there was a registry problem halfway during the installation.

I pressed 'Ignore' after trying many times pressing 'Retry'. The program could be installed but Email Protection could not work. I tried to update the program and virus definitions, but realised that my internet connection (I am using a Linksys router and I have 512k broadband with Internet Sharing) was down. I thought it was because of the router, so I restarted it. After many tries, it could not work and I suspected it was because of the antivirus.

I tried uninstalling Norton, but the internet was still down (down as in: normally, I should have an IP address of 192.168.1.100, but I received another IP that was not in the 192.168.1.1 series). Therefore, I reinstalled McAfee to check if it was the problem, but the internet was still down. I checked the firewall to see if it was blocking the internet connection, but the setting was set to filter (There are 3 options: Block, Filter, and Allow all). So I set it to allow all and immediately, the IP address was issued to the computer and I could access the internet. I experimented with it a little, and I realised if I changed the filter option back to 'Filter', I could not access the Internet.

Will someone tell me what the problem is? Thank you Grin.
Logged

 
nr3k
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2004, 12:46:01 AM »

... bounce bounce
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2004, 03:21:24 AM »

Thread continued here...
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page July 15, 2017, 04:41:55 AM