MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Microsoft arrow Topic: XP Pro locks up
March 22, 2019, 03:06:25 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
March 22, 2019, 03:06:25 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
Help us help you! Help us help you by helping out! The more people know about us, the more help will be available. Click here to find out how...
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: XP Pro locks up  (Read 1886 times)
mazda
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: March 19, 2004, 02:24:36 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: xp pro
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:



Im running xp pro and it locks up after a while, I have to reset. Im running an AMD Athlon XP2000 320MB SDram 16MB nvdia graphics 20Gb hardrive.  Any ideas?
« Last Edit: March 19, 2004, 02:48:55 PM by mazda » Logged

 
Wainui
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 112


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2004, 10:41:00 PM »

When was the last time you did a Scandisk & Defrag ?
Also clear your History folder and Temporary Internet Files folder to get rid of some of the junk. (Internet Explorer - Tools, Internet Options)
Logged

 
mazda
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2004, 05:52:55 PM »

quote:
Originally posted by Wainui

When was the last time you did a Scandisk & Defrag ?
Also clear your History folder and Temporary Internet Files folder to get rid of some of the junk. (Internet Explorer - Tools, Internet Options)




Scan disk quite regulary because it crashes.  Have just defraged using disk keeper n e ideas?
Logged

 
Wainui
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 112


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2004, 10:06:51 PM »

Why is Scandisk crashing ?
Its purpose is to examine your hard drisk drive for any surface errors and bad sectors. If data is stored on any of the bad sectors then you may not be able to recover it and the system may "freeze up"
Follow this procedure to do a Scandisk and Defrag:
Scandisk: Go off line and Close all programs.
Double click My Computer on your Desktop.
Right click Local Disk (C:) and choose Properties.
Click on the Tools tab.
Click the Check Now button.
Put a Check in both boxes under Check Disk Options and Click Start.
Click Yes
Restart your computer.
During the restart Windows will perform a thorough Scandisk and give you a report.
If you want to save the report, press the Print Screen button on your keyboard.

Defrag:
Double click My Computer and right click Local Disk (C:).
Click the Tools tab and the Defragment Now button.
In the Disk Defragmenter window click on Local Disk (C:) on the top and then the Defragment button.

Defrag should take about half an hour depending on the size of your HDD. Please disable any "Screen Saver" or other programs that may be running in the background which could interfere with the Defrag program.








« Last Edit: March 20, 2004, 10:14:51 PM by Wainui » Logged

 
sj1184
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 323


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2004, 02:25:34 AM »

Hi M,
A computer freezes most of the time cause of a heat issue.It can also freeze cause of a bad stick of memory,a hardware or software issue.
Go to radio shack & get some canned air.Shut down the computer & unplug it.Take the side panel off.Grab the bare metal with both hands to discharge any static electricity.Clean out all the dust & animal dander(if you have pets).Blow out the dust off the cpu fan & power supply fan with the canned air & anywhere else that you can't reach.While the unit's open,plug it in & turn it on.DO NOT TOUCH ANYTHING INSIDE WHILE IT'S ON.Look at the cpu fan & make sure it's running steady,not slowing down & speeding up.If the fan's ok,shut down the computer & put the panel back on.Turn on the computer & see if it freezes up anymore.If it does,then it may be one of the other things I posted.
Take care.
Logged

Sandy
mazda
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2004, 07:03:37 PM »

quote:
Originally posted by sj1184

Hi M,
A computer freezes most of the time cause of a heat issue.It can also freeze cause of a bad stick of memory,a hardware or software issue.
Go to radio shack & get some canned air.Shut down the computer & unplug it.Take the side panel off.Grab the bare metal with both hands to discharge any static electricity.Clean out all the dust & animal dander(if you have pets).Blow out the dust off the cpu fan & power supply fan with the canned air & anywhere else that you can't reach.While the unit's open,plug it in & turn it on.DO NOT TOUCH ANYTHING INSIDE WHILE IT'S ON.Look at the cpu fan & make sure it's running steady,not slowing down & speeding up.If the fan's ok,shut down the computer & put the panel back on.Turn on the computer & see if it freezes up anymore.If it does,then it may be one of the other things I posted.
Take care.



I've brought a new heat sink an fan, put it on but my aida 32 says the cpu is still at 52
« Last Edit: March 25, 2004, 07:04:59 PM by mazda » Logged

 
sj1184
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 323


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: March 26, 2004, 02:30:16 AM »

Hi M,
When you replaced the heatsink & fan,did you apply a thin layer of heat sink compound?Also,what do you mean aida32 is says your cpu is at 52%.Do you mean temperature?Look at my attachment.
Take care.

Download Attachment: Temperature.jpg 96.63 KB
Right click and select Save Target As... then rename the file as shown here and save.
« Last Edit: March 26, 2004, 02:36:05 AM by sj1184 » Logged

Sandy
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page November 05, 2017, 01:38:16 AM