MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Application Problems arrow Topic: Search from the address bar
November 22, 2019, 12:30:26 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 22, 2019, 12:30:26 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
Help us help you! Help us help you by helping out! The more people know about us, the more help will be available. Click here to find out how...
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Search from the address bar  (Read 864 times)
Skipper
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 24


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: April 07, 2004, 12:10:52 AM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:W2K
Problem Application Name & Version:IE6
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:


Hi! My search button is programmed for Goggle. Did that via Tips & Tricks section on this forum. It works fine.
But when I type something in the address bar with a question mark and hit go or enter, there is no search engine. I get instead http:///?%20XXXXX? XXXXX being the word that I previously typed. It says that the page cannot be displayed.
I suspect I deleted a file in the registry.here is what I've got in HKEY-LOCAL_MACHINE/software/microsoft/internet explorer/search:

Default            REG_SZ  (value not set)
CustomizeSearch    REG_SZ  http://ie.search.msn.com/{SUB_RFC1766}/srchasst/srchcust.htm
SearchAssistant    REG_SZ  http://google.com/ie

Any idea?Sad

Thanks, Skipper


Logged

 
rmgh
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 61


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2004, 11:47:54 AM »

Hey Skipper,

Click customise on the top right hand corner of the search screen at the left.  Then select "Use one search service," and choose a different service.  If there isn't anymore services then click "Autosearch settings" and select a different service from there.
Logged

 
rmgh
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 61


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2004, 04:17:42 AM »

Hey Skipper,

The only thing I can suggest is don't search using question marks.  Sorry:(
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page July 16, 2017, 12:17:22 PM