MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: virtual memory
November 15, 2019, 06:33:08 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 15, 2019, 06:33:08 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Looking for cheap hardware and/or software?
Visit our new Online Store where you will be able to purchase from a reputable vendor by country.
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: virtual memory  (Read 706 times)
khkm
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 20


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: April 08, 2004, 08:20:16 PM »

hi i have 1 gig of ram in my pc
and i heard that you can make you pc much faster by increasing your virtual memory.
do anyone know what the maximum that i can increase to Huh??
Logged

 
sj1184
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 323


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2004, 04:00:11 AM »

Hi KH,
Windows uses virtual memory when it doesn't have enough "regular" physical memory to perform a task. When it does this, Windows uses your hard drive to store information that normally would be put into your RAM memory. Here's an overly simplified example:

Let's say you have 32 meg of RAM available. Now, you load a program that takes up 20 meg, and another that takes up 22 meg. You need a total of 42 meg, but you only have 32 meg of actual RAM memory. However, both programs still run. What's happening?

Windows is using 10 meg of hard drive space to supplement your physical 32 meg of RAM (don't worry, this 10 meg will be erased once Windows is done with it).

I know what you're thinking. Why bother to add extra RAM to my computer if it can use hard drive space instead? Main reason - RAM is much faster.

Adjust Virtual Memory

If you have two hard drives in your computer and your C: drive is about full, you can tell Windows to use your other drive for virtual memory.
OR
Logged

Sandy
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page November 11, 2016, 06:19:18 PM