MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: building new comp. wont start up
October 21, 2019, 10:55:12 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 21, 2019, 10:55:12 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  New Poll on our main page!
"My experience with Vista..."
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: building new comp. wont start up  (Read 781 times)
xxpurebichxx
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 2


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: April 15, 2004, 02:38:59 AM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: none yet
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:



Ok so i bought a new motherboard, cpu, and memory, also a new case. I hooked everything up, the power light thats located on the mother board is lit up when i plug the comp in however when i press the power button, the fan clicks on for a second nothing lights up (other than the steady green power light on motherboard), and nothing beeps, and it sounds like for a second its powering up but i get nothing. would that be an error with the motherboard, or maybe the power wire on the case? or something completely diff. PLZ HELP!!!
Logged

 
shplad
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 160


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2004, 11:07:33 PM »

xxpurebichxx:

Have you tried removing all the cards from the PCI/ISA slots? Remove all cards and see if the machine boots. If the machine still doesn't at least begin to boot or do the Power-On Self Test, remove the RAM that is in the PC and try another stick of RAM. If it still doesn't boot, I'd suspect the power supply. Try another one.

Hogwild
Logged

 
Sijaf
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 10


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2004, 03:23:35 AM »

Hi,

Is this a P4 system ur trying to assemble?  If so, did you connect both of the power source to the mother board.  There is one small power connection that supplies power to the CPU.  If you don't have this connected, then the system will not boot.

Hope this is helpful.
"My religion says that there is no god."
The Athiest Society
Sijaf
Logged

"My religion says that there is no god."
The Athiest Society
Sijaf
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page June 12, 2018, 10:06:53 AM