MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: nVidia WDM Video Capture(universal) !
July 19, 2019, 01:09:14 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
July 19, 2019, 01:09:14 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  Check out our improved Download section for tons of software....
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] 2  All Go Down Print
Author Topic: nVidia WDM Video Capture(universal) !  (Read 52416 times)
anx1910
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 23


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: April 15, 2004, 05:47:57 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:Windows XP PRo SP1
Problem Application Name & Version: nVidia
Problem Hardware Make & Model:NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 440
Error Messages:This device cannot start. (Code 10)



dont matter what i do i get this error after i install the Geforce
i want to use the card as a video capture and with this driver not working i cant. if someone knows how to fix this prob please help :O)

ammm just for more info when i instal the WDM drives this are the drives installed:

nVidia WDM A/V Crossbar
nVidia TVAudio Crossbar
nVidia TVtuner
nVidia WDM Video Capture(universal)  - this drive is the only one that doesnt work

in the Divice Maneger it holds the famuse yelow "!"

does some1 have eny id?

thnx

anx;D

Logged

 
shplad
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 160


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2004, 11:09:56 PM »

anx1910:

Usually the "famous yellow !" as you put it, means there is a resource conflict, and/or that the driver for the device could not be installed properly. Try booting into safe mode, uninstalling all parts of the device and its drivers, and phoning nVidia for support on installing the drivers properly.  The manufacturers themselves are usually the best ones to call for this.

good luck


Hogwild
Logged

 
anx1910
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 23


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2004, 07:03:17 AM »

i wish i could call them Tongue im in israel Tongue

ammmm i looked for feedback on this subject over the net and i does seems like no one ever got an asr to this Q :O)

so u think there is no way to solve this without calling to the usa?
Logged

 
sj1184
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 323


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2004, 07:00:29 PM »

Hi Anx,
First I would download updated drivers from the nvidia site.Then I would try what Shplad suggested & uninstall the drivers from safe mode.
To get into safe mode,restart the computer.As soon as the splash screen comes up,start tapping the F8 key.If that doesn't do it,restart the computer & hold down the "ctrl" key.
Once in safe mode,go to the control panel>add/remove and search for "NVIDIA Windows Display Drivers" or "NVIDIA Display Drivers" and select remove.
Then go into the device manager & click the "+" next to "display adaptors".Right click the "mx440" & delete/remove it.If there's more than 1 listed or any other video card listed,delete/remove them all.Restart the computer,it'll find new hardware.Install the updated drivers.
http://www.nvidia.com/object/winxp_2k_56.72
Make sure you read "driver installation hints" located on the left side on the nvidia site.
Take care.
« Last Edit: April 18, 2004, 07:07:23 PM by sj1184 » Logged

Sandy
gonegolfing
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2004, 06:29:21 AM »

I had the same problem after installing ALL the drivers that came with my GeForce FX 5200. It then dawned on me that I didn't have a video capture device. Go to add/remove programs and remove the Nvidia WDM video capture drivers and you will then find everything will work with no errors.

If you install the WDM drivers from the install disk and don't have a video capture device, the software assumes you do (or why would you have installed the drivers). It then tells you that it can't install the drivers end gives you the 'wdm video capture (universal) code 10 error'.
A sort of Catch 22 situation. Good luck hope this helps.
Logged

 
Dubious
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: May 27, 2004, 09:43:25 AM »

Hi, I have a Geforce fx5200 too.
But I just bought a pixel view play TV pro (tv tuner).

And when XP auto detects the hardware it tries to find the drivers, and install them. So for the Tv card i end up installing the BT WDM video/audio/crossbar drviers, but it also detects and wants me to install the nvdia WDM crossbar/video drivers too..and i get the code 10 error beside the video (universal) device.

HELP!

Now i have to completely uninstall all the drivers for the tv card just to use my webcam (genius video cam web), otherwise when i try to test-run watching tv, the computer automatically reboots! (it also reboots or locks up if i dont have the webcam installed. But the applications work if i have the webcam installedbut not the BTxxx drivers installed-showing the webcam input, but not the BTxxx drivers installed) Sad  (its not any irq error)

please help! thank you in advance Cheesy


Logged

 
JamieHutber
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2004, 10:12:14 AM »

Yeah i also have Geforce fx5200,
and again i am getting hte same problem! this is very anoyying, to say the least. And again i have a T.V card so i can watch T.V on my Computer. But the problem comes when i try and install the drivers for this T.V, the 7 "UnKnown" devices just keep saying "The Data is invaild"

i think it must be a problem with the Geforce fx5200 card, But its o so Anoyying!!

i'll try all the stuff posted and get back to you guys!
Logged

Why WHY! O WHY! do computer have to be so dam a****tive;-)
anx1910
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 23


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: June 10, 2004, 11:04:45 AM »

I just gave up on it Smiley
(im the first poster on the subject)
it didnt work out for me :O)

hope that youll have better luck :O)

anx.
Logged

 
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: June 10, 2004, 02:13:04 PM »

Just a reminder....make sure you've uninstalled any old video card drivers first,especially with nVidia cards.

Cactus
Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
robertrules
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #9 on: June 30, 2004, 06:23:48 PM »


Hi
I've got a Geforce2 MX400 and dont matter what i do i get this error after i install the Geforce
i want to use the card as a video capture and with this driver not working i cant. if someone knows how to fix this prob please help :O)

ammm just for more info when i instal the WDM drives this are the drives installed:

nVidia WDM A/V Crossbar
nVidia TVAudio Crossbar
nVidia TVtuner
nVidia WDM Video Capture(universal) - this drive is the only one that doesnt work

in the Divice Maneger it holds the famuse yelow "!"

does some1 have eny id?

thnx
Logged

 
KaTaLy5t
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 501


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #10 on: July 01, 2004, 01:05:34 AM »

I have a GeForce FX5200 and I don't have any of the above drivers installed and my system and the card works perfectly. I'm thinking there may be a conflict in the system where the tv card and the FX5200 are trying to use the same resources? Try checking in the "system information" utility in the hardware resources/conflicts section to see if there are any conflicts.

Again, like Cactus said make sure that any drivers for previous cards have been uninstalled. Try using this program:

http://www.l5sg.com/products/downloads/drivermanager/index.

It shows all of the drivers on your computer and allows you to uninstall them individually if you want. I think it's only for Win2K an XP but check in case I'm wrong.
Logged





You can't hug people with nuclear arms
caress
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #11 on: July 22, 2004, 08:39:20 AM »

Hi! I have Inno3d Geforce 5600 FX + Personal Cinema FX card. And I have the same problem with the nVidia WDM Vide Capture (universal).
Won't start, Code 10. Can anibody help? What's Code 10?
Logged

 
neilmatthews45
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #12 on: July 29, 2004, 02:47:29 PM »

i have read all your meesages on the "code 10" and video capture (the yellow sign in device manager) problems with the geforce cards and have also suffered from the same problem.

SOLUTION!!!!!
IF YOU HAVE A COMPAQ PC GIVE UP NOW AS YOUR BIOS IS LOCKED BY THEM ! i know as my other machine will not do this....... sorry

read this web page all is answeared there
http://www.nvidia.com/object/IO_13957.html
basically you have to enable "Assign IRQ to VGA" in your motherboards system BIOS.  and bobs your uncle.Grin
Logged

 
luty_xp
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 2


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #13 on: August 03, 2004, 12:26:02 AM »

Hi!
I have a Gforce4 MX440 and I'm using windows XP.
The card is working perfect with the nvidia drivers, but today I installed the drives for video capture and I haved the same problem...

nVidia WDM A/V Crossbar
nVidia TVAudio Crossbar
nVidia TVtuner
nVidia WDM Video Capture(universal) - this drive is the only one that doesnt work

I have see many solutions around the net:

Install the last driver: done
Check in your bios that the option "Asign IRQ to VGA" is enabled: Done
Check for IRQ conflicts: Done

Anyone has new ideas?? I have tried EVERYTHING!!!
Thanks
Lucy
PS: sorry for my bad english ^_^
Logged

 
karmafunk
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #14 on: October 19, 2004, 01:43:26 PM »

When someone finds a solution to this problem I will personally make a donation to their favourite charity and buy them a bottle of whatever alcoholic beverage they desire.  Email me @ stevegraham2000@hotmail.com if you find the solution.  As soon as I find the solution I am going to put it on every formum I have come across that also discusses this problem.

Just for the record I have an Nvidia Geforce MX400 and get the nVidia WDM Video Capture(universal) code 10 error.

I have had this problem for about 3 weeks when I first decided to try the capture out.  I have tried every solution I have found to no avail.  I have also tried disabling various other drivers and rebooting to see if this has an affect but this too is no good.  Are these cards just rubbish?  The nVidia web site has one solution which I already have set.

Maybe someone could write to them directly and ask them to suggest a solution.

Anyway, I am off now to stick some hot pins in my eyes as I find they relieve the pain of this on going problem.
Logged

 
Pages: [1] 2  All Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page July 13, 2019, 05:36:55 AM