MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Internet & Network Support arrow Internet & Email arrow Topic: Password and Security
August 25, 2019, 12:15:41 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 25, 2019, 12:15:41 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  Got pics of your modded PC or want to show off your cool desktop, visit our new Show & Tell forum!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] 2  All Go Down Print
Author Topic: Password and Security  (Read 3752 times)
Melanie211
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 11


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: April 20, 2004, 12:18:31 PM »

I am unable to open any webpage which requires a password.  Some examples include hotmail, banking sites, etc.
I am still able to surf the net, but cannot access any password sites.  Any advice would be appreciated.

Mel
Logged

 
benditup
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2105


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2004, 05:57:39 AM »

A few things to check
Open IE and click on Help---About
Cipher strenth should be 128 bit

You don't say what version of IE your running but you may want to visit Windows update and update your version to the latest and get all Critical updates
Make sure the date and time are correct on your computer

Stole this from Zupe, follow it exactly, this may or may not help but worth a try

Try this - with ALL BROWSER WINDOWS CLOSED, Go to Start->Run and copy and paste each of the following, hitting ok after each:

regsvr32 softpub.dll
regsvr32 wintrust.dll
regsvr32 initpki.dll
regsvr32 dssenh.dll
regsvr32 rsaenh.dll
regsvr32 gpkcsp.dll
regsvr32 sccbase.dll
regsvr32 slbcsp.dll
regsvr32 cryptdlg.dll
« Last Edit: April 21, 2004, 05:58:22 AM by benditup » Logged

 
Melanie211
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 11


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2004, 10:56:04 AM »

Still didn't work!  Thanks for the help though.  You wondered what version I was running....it's IE 6.0 and I'm using Microsoft XP (Home Edition).  I can't log on to messenger or anything!  
Any more suggestions would be appreciated!
Thanks,
Mel;D


quote:
Originally posted by benditup

A few things to check
Open IE and click on Help---About
Cipher strenth should be 128 bit

You don't say what version of IE your running but you may want to visit Windows update and update your version to the latest and get all Critical updates
Make sure the date and time are correct on your computer

Stole this from Zupe, follow it exactly, this may or may not help but worth a try

Try this - with ALL BROWSER WINDOWS CLOSED, Go to Start->Run and copy and paste each of the following, hitting ok after each:

regsvr32 softpub.dll
regsvr32 wintrust.dll
regsvr32 initpki.dll
regsvr32 dssenh.dll
regsvr32 rsaenh.dll
regsvr32 gpkcsp.dll
regsvr32 sccbase.dll
regsvr32 slbcsp.dll
regsvr32 cryptdlg.dll


Logged

 
benditup
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2105


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2004, 12:22:23 AM »

This is a Shot in the Dark Melanie, before we go and try hunting down
other possibilities...
Do you have any virus or spyware protection?
Would you mind letting us see a Hijackthis log to confirm you are spyware
free?
Create a Permanent folder on your hard drive
EG.... Open MyDocuments-----Right click an empty spot and select NEW---
Folder-----Name that new folder HJT
This is where you will want to save Hijackthis, thanx
http://www.spywareinfo.com/%7Emerijn/files/HijackThis.exe

Open just Hijackthis and do a Scan---Scan will change to Save log
copy and paste the Whole contents of the log here.

Have your tried cleaning out your temporary internet folders and
cookies
How about doing a Disk Cleanup.....
I will do some searching later, see what we can come up with, but eliminating Spyware or Malware can help with this some times.

Also could you enter your control panel and find and double click on
Internet Options------In the next window click on the Advanced tab
and Restore defaults...
Restart your computer and try again
« Last Edit: April 22, 2004, 12:33:22 AM by benditup » Logged

 
Melanie211
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 11


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2004, 01:26:35 PM »

Well, I've gone and done it now!
I followed a trouble-shooting page from windows update and now I can't even get IE to open!  I thought I had problems when I couldn't access secure sites!  I went into the registery and changed a value....just following instructions and now IE doesn't work at all, but I can still check my work email so I know it's not my internet connection.  
Result:  work computer totally screwed = working from home!

HELP!
Any help would be appreciated.

P.S.  how bad did I screw up?!!
Logged

 
benditup
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2105


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2004, 01:29:27 AM »

Hi Melanie, are you able to use System Restore to bring your system
back to a point before this ALL started happening?

Start----All Programs----Accessories-----System Tools---System Restore---
Restore your computer to an earlier time----the dates allowed will be in
bold
Logged

 
Melanie211
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 11


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2004, 01:55:14 AM »

Hi,

I tried the system restore option, but nothing is showing up.  I thought that would save me, but it doesn't look like it will.

Thanks for all your advice and help,

Mel
Logged

 
benditup
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2105


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: April 23, 2004, 02:52:43 AM »

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,1759,1561703,00.asp

Along with that link you could also try another browser
Save and install on other computer
 I haven't tried installing this route but it has a standalone installer
It's usually the only browser I ever use....
http://www.mozilla.org/products/firefox/

Nice to have another browser anyways, I have most of the guys at work using it now...
This will also determine if It's just a IE problem
« Last Edit: April 23, 2004, 02:58:47 AM by benditup » Logged

 
Melanie211
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 11


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: April 23, 2004, 05:13:55 PM »

Hi,

I downloaded the other browser, but that didn't work either.  I really think that my mistake was changing that value in the registry!  It's strange that my browser won't work but I can still check my outlook express.
HELP!

Melanie

P.S. I have a tech support guy coming on monday but if I can fix it myself and save the money that would be great!
Logged

 
Dizzy
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 125


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #9 on: April 24, 2004, 01:23:25 AM »

Melanie,

Did you happen to make a backup of your Registry before you made the change?  If so, double click on the backup and when it asks you if you would like to merge the file into your registry (not exact wording), click "Yes" or "OK" or whatever is the affirmative answer.

If you did not make a backup (please do so from now on Wink), make one now, change the setting back to what it was before you changed it the first time and restart your computer.

Please keep us posted.

Dizzy
Logged




I am a "One Off Gem."

Just ask My Julian. [Cheesy]
benditup
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2105


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #10 on: April 24, 2004, 09:09:35 AM »

It's the weekend now, like Dizzy mentioned, did you backup the registry
key,
Could you give us a link to the suggested change from Microsoft?
That may help....
System Restore won't work, I wonder why?
Have you disabled it?
Logged

 
Melanie211
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 11


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #11 on: April 24, 2004, 09:26:47 PM »

I don't know if I backed up the registry!  As you can probably tell, I'm not the most computer literate person on here!  I'm not even sure what value I changed......just that I was in the registry!

Have a good weekend,

Mel
Logged

 
Dizzy
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 125


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #12 on: April 24, 2004, 11:41:31 PM »

Hi Mel,

In the future, back up your registry before making any changes.  You can back up a single key or the entire thing - which is what I usually recommend on account of that time I sneezed while editing the registry and still have no clue what it was I changed by accident [:O]

To back up your registry, open the Registry Editor (Start | Run | type in "regedit" sans quotes and press "Enter") and go to File | Export and at the top where it says "Save In" change the location to "Desktop" using the drop down menu.  Now at the bottom under "Export Range" put the 'dot' in "All" and where it says "File Name" type in "backup" (or any name you desire) and click "Save."

You've just made a backup of your registry.  Now if something goes wrong, all you have to do is double click this backup file and it will put things back to the way they were before you made any changes.

[repeating benditup's request]  Would you happen to have a link to the Microsoft page where they advised you to make a change in the registry?  If so, please post it here.  Grin

Dizzy
Logged




I am a "One Off Gem."

Just ask My Julian. [Cheesy]
sj1184
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 323


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #13 on: April 25, 2004, 12:42:10 AM »

Hi Melanie,
Do you have your winxp cd?If so,repair it.
XP REPAIR INSTALL
   
   1. Boot the computer using the XP CD. You may need to change the
      boot order in the system BIOS. Check your system documentation
      for steps to access the BIOS and change the boot order.
   
   
  2. When you see the "Welcome To Setup" screen, you will see the
     options below This portion of the Setup program prepares Microsoft
     Windows XP to run on your computer:

   To setup Windows XP now, press ENTER.

   To repair a Windows XP installation using Recovery Console, press R.

   To quit Setup without installing Windows XP, press F3.
 
 
   
   
    3. Press Enter to start the Windows Setup.

      do not choose "To repair a Windows XP installation using the
      Recovery Console, press  R", (you do not want to load Recovery
      Console). I repeat, do not choose "To repair a Windows XP
      installation using the Recovery Console, press  R".

    4. Accept the License Agreement and Windows will search for existing
       Windows installations.

    5. Select the XP installation you want to repair from the list and
       press R to start the repair. If Repair is not one of the options,
       read  this Warning!!

    6. Setup will copy the necessary files to the hard drive and reboot.  
       Do not press any key to boot from CD when the message appears.
       Setup will continue as if it were doing a clean install, but your
       applications and settings will remain intact.
7. Reapply updates or service packs applied since initial Windows XP
    installation. Please note that a Repair Install from the Original
    install XP CD will remove SP1 and SP1 will need to be reapplied.

 Warning!!
    If the option to Repair Install is not available and you continue
    with the install;you will delete your Windows folder and Documents
    and Settings folder. All applications that place keys in the registry
    will need to be re-installed. You should exit setup if the repair
    option is not available and consider other options.

Take care.
Logged

Sandy
Melanie211
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 11


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #14 on: April 26, 2004, 01:07:18 AM »

I THINK this these are the directions I followed:
For all users of the program, set the value in the following registry key:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main\FeatureControl\Retry_HeaderOnlyPOST_OnConnectionReset

For the current user of the program only, set the value in the following registry key:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main\FeatureControl\Retry_HeaderOnlyPOST_OnConnectionReset

For example, to enable header-only post behavior in Internet Explorer and Windows Explorer, create DWORD values for iexplore.exe and explore.exe in one of these registry keys, and set their value data to 1.


The link to this site it:
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;831167

I'm not quite sure though because I followed alot of links when I was trying to fix my problem.

Mel
Logged

 
Pages: [1] 2  All Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page June 12, 2018, 10:48:28 AM