MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Internet & Network Support arrow Internet & Email arrow Topic: proxy server for internet
October 20, 2019, 12:55:48 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 20, 2019, 12:55:48 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  New Poll on our main page!
"My experience with Vista..."
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: proxy server for internet  (Read 1147 times)
jeffs52
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: April 22, 2004, 03:23:13 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: xt professional
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:



All of a sudden, I can't seem to get into web sites that I never had a problem with before.  When I go to settings and click on connections, there is a check next to the proxy setting.  I usually have this set to get automatically.  When I click on that, I have no problem since I have cable modem.  However, once I leave the internet or go to another site, I have to do this all over again. I can't seem to get it to stay on automatic.  Please help.
Thanks.
Jeff
Logged

 
Old Bill
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2004, 03:50:07 AM »

Have same problem using W98SE,IE6.0 and Comcast cable modem. When activate IE, get very prolonged startup delay while "checking proxy server". Can avoid this by first accessing Control Panel / Internet Options / Connections / LAN Setting and un-setting "Use Automatic Configuration Script". As result, IE starts immediately. However, IE then automatically turns Auto Config Script back on which screws up next use of IE. Have been unable to stop IE from this behavior and ComCast unable to help. Any suggestions?
Logged

Old Bill
eddie5659
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 10


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2004, 10:47:43 PM »

Hiya

I wonder if its a hijacker of some sort. If not, at leats we can rule it out.

go to www.spychecker.com/program/hijackthis.html , and download 'Hijack This!'.
Unzip, doubleclick HijackThis.exe, and hit "Scan".

When the scan is finished, the "Scan" button will change into a "Save Log" button.
Press that, save the log somewhere, and please copy & paste its contents to the forum.

It will possibly show other issues deserving our attention, but most of what it lists will be harmless or even required, so do NOT fix anything yet.
Someone here will be happy to help you analyze the results.

Regards

eddie
Logged

Just go with the flow, like a twig on the shoulders of a mighty stream

http://forums.techguy.org
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page April 04, 2017, 04:16:41 PM