MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Internet & Network Support arrow Networking Problems arrow Topic: TCP/IP and IPCONFIG Connection Problems
July 10, 2020, 05:15:47 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
July 10, 2020, 05:15:47 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
Article Writers We are looking for quality, informational articles to add to our Computer Articles
Please contact us if you are interested in submitting some....
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: TCP/IP and IPCONFIG Connection Problems  (Read 1444 times)
bgsuwoody
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: May 03, 2004, 10:34:19 AM »

Ok so I got the sasser worm, and before I knew it would be easier to get rid of I installed XP pro to a computer with XP HOME then after I found out I couldn't get an internet connection with PRO I went back to XP HOME. Here is the prediciment. My computer automatically reads a connection (1394 Lan Connection) but it is not coming from my ethernet card, because if I unplug it or anything it is still read. I try to use TCP/IP to find my IP and it cant find anything it says everything is unavailable. Also if i run ipconfig it shows absolutely nothing. No error or anything. I have tried to refresh it and everything, but nothing is working. If anyone could help me it would be greatly appreciated
Logged

 
shplad
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 160


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2004, 04:30:00 AM »

bgsuwoody:

whoooooooah. Slow down partner!  So now you have XP home, right?  What do you mean when you say your computer "reads a connection"?  If by what you said, you mean that your computer displays an interface listing for the 1394 port, what's wrong with that? That's just a firewire port.

What are you trying to connect to? The Internet? Another machine? A private lan?
What is your network setup? Are you using a cablemodem? DSL? Router? We need more details in order to help.


Shplad
Logged

 
shipmate
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2004, 12:49:21 PM »

shipmate
bought an etec wireless  router and two x micro adapters to create a home network system.got the main desktop to connect to router and broadband internet ok.
other desktop and notebook have adapters installed ok but i cant connect them all together!!
have run wizards galore but no luck.
one desktop is windows ME,the others are XP home.
any ideas?
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page July 17, 2017, 03:20:25 PM