MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: no display @ boot; strange beep pattern
November 20, 2019, 11:02:57 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 20, 2019, 11:02:57 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
Welcome to MyTechSupport.ca! - Registration is FREE, so why not join our friendly community today?
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: no display @ boot; strange beep pattern  (Read 1867 times)
petersohn
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 14


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: May 05, 2004, 06:44:00 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: n/a
Problem Application Name & Version: n/a
Problem Hardware Make & Model: ASUS P4P800 Deluxe, nvidia GeForce FX 5200
Error Messages: no boot (pre-POST), one long beep followed by two short ones



Hello.

i recently assembled a computer with the above parts, and when i start it up, there is no display. during that, the system repeats a pattern of one long beep, then two short beeps. the system seems to be running just fine, but the display doesn't show. when i reset the system during the beeps, the noise stops, the system restarts, and the beeping stops permanently, but this does not fix the absence of display. i then took out the video card to see if i could isolate the problem, and i found that it did the exact same thing as it did with the video card in place. however, i am still unsure as to the nature of the problem.

if someone could help me on this, it'd be great. thanks in advance.

-shsohn
Logged

 
Alok
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 213

Alok


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2004, 01:43:26 AM »

reassebmble the pc with the help of manual
Logged

ALOK TIWARI
mralokkp
petersohn
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 14


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2004, 01:30:24 PM »

i took the system apart and reassembled it with the motherboard manual and online manuals, and the same problem arises. any other ideas? defective parts, maybe?

thanks
Logged

 
petersohn
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 14


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2004, 06:41:14 PM »

one last thing.

i ended up taking out the video card and trying it on another computer, and it worked just fine. this would probably mean that i blew out the motherboard or something, right...?

any suggestions would be appreciated.

thanks all.
Logged

 
waypoints
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2004, 12:36:46 PM »

I am having a very similar problem. When I came to my PC it was locked up. When I shut it down and restarted it would not display. My peripheral devices boot up there is just no display. I also tested video card and monitor for problems and the problem does not involve these. I am pondering rebuilding the PC but first I am going to try and find an issue. Let me know if you find a solution and I will do same.
Logged

 
waypoints
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2004, 12:59:53 PM »

Update! I never had this happen before . . . I was able to solve the problem by resetting the CMOS battery and then loading yhe optimized defaults in the BIOS.
Logged

 
petersohn
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 14


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: May 08, 2004, 10:36:10 PM »

...hmm. how might i attempt to do what you tried to do?

a friend advised me to try another power supply, but i don't know.
i tested the card on another system and it's fine... and used another card on the system in question, and the same problem arose... which makes me assume it has something to do with the motherboard, so i'm planning to send it in for RMA.

so yeah, if you could post how to do it, that'd be great.
Logged

 
petersohn
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 14


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: May 13, 2004, 05:46:14 PM »

i fixed the problem. turns out it was defective RAM. what a pain.

Grin
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page September 26, 2017, 02:52:09 PM