MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Internet & Network Support arrow Internet & Email arrow Topic: IE will not open
November 18, 2019, 10:09:55 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 18, 2019, 10:09:55 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  We now offer MyTechSupport.ca Merchandise! Every purchase goes towards maintaining our site.
Thank you for supporting MyTechSupport.ca!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: IE will not open  (Read 1044 times)
ddev
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 2


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: May 08, 2004, 02:45:39 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:  Windows 98
Problem Application Name & Version:  IE6
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:
IEXPLORE caused an invalid page fault in
module KERNEL32.DLL at 0187:bff7b9a6.
Registers:
EAX=00000000 CS=0187 EIP=bff7b9a6 EFLGS=00000246
EBX=70eb8f88 SS=018f ESP=00645e5c EBP=00645ea8
ECX=70eb8e88 DS=018f ESI=70eb8f88 FS=59f7
EDX=bffc9310 ES=018f EDI=70eb8e88 GS=0000
Bytes at CS:EIP:
ff 76 04 e8 13 89 ff ff 5e c2 04 00 56 8b 74 24
Stack dump:
70eb8e88 70d186c8 70eb8f88 00000000 70eb8e88 00645ea8 70c50000 70d192ad 00000000 00000001 70d19239 70d14c58 00000001 70d14563 70d193c2 70d14b2c



Please help!! I cannot open IE.  I have to get on the internet by going through Network Neighborhood and then go to my home page (I'm not part of a network), but once on I still cannot open any links.  When I dial-up, once I connect, I have to Ctrl-Alt-Del, click on IExplore, and hit End Task, otherwise the computer locks up.  Then I get on through Network Neighborhood.
I downloaded IE6 again, but it did not solve the problem.
Thanks.

Logged

 
Pancake
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +78/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3915


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2004, 01:57:36 AM »

This should help  http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=187965


Logged

An Australian Member of

EDDY
ddev
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 2


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2004, 11:38:32 PM »

Thanks.  I have tried this link, I've downloaded the updates from microsoft, and I've done the repair of IE by going into msinfo32.  No luck.  I did notice that I do not have a copy of winsock32.dll when I went into msinfo32.  Could this be causing the problem?  Any help appreciated.  Thanks.
Logged

 
Pancake
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +78/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3915


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2004, 12:31:05 AM »

Yes,98 does need  winsock32.dll
Logged

An Australian Member of

EDDY
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page September 26, 2017, 04:57:01 PM