MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Internet & Network Support arrow Internet & Email arrow Topic: Where did JVM go?
December 07, 2019, 10:17:30 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 07, 2019, 10:17:30 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Looking for cheap hardware and/or software?
Visit our new Online Store where you will be able to purchase from a reputable vendor by country.
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Where did JVM go?  (Read 1344 times)
TUBA4
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: May 18, 2004, 09:24:12 AM »


 Win98se, IE6sp1, Both updated, Dell 466mhz, 384mb Ram, 30gb Hdd, McAfee personal firewall v5.0, Spybot S&D, PestPatrol,AdAware, AdSubtract, Enternet 300, At&t DSL. I have 2 of these PCs & they are identical(1 digit apart in S/N). The other(DELL-B) uses 56k dialup which i very seldom use. This PC(DELL-C), is what i use for the internet & this is the 1 i'm having a problem with. I had a problem about a month ago so i reformatted & did a clean reinstall of everything on this PC. But some where along the line the JVM disappeared from IE6sp1. I checked the other PC & it is there & working just fine. I have a sneaking suspicion that when i redid the M/S wud, it got deleted. It doesn't show in IE6>tools>Internet Options>Advanced preferences dialog window. No matter how it happened i need to get it back.
  I'm thinking the easiest way to do that would be to reinstall IE6sp1 over the existing. However i don't know if that's do-able. Perhaps there's a simpler way of doing that. I've tried installing "JVM on demand" twice & it never finishes, like it forgets what it was doing, so i have to click cancel to bail out. Maybe that's telling me something!
  I've been thru IE6 repair tool several times, & i've run "sfc" several times & only find that "setupx.dll" is missing or corrupted but then so is it on my other PC. When ever i reinstall W98se it comes up missing/corupted as it always has but I has never been able to connect it with any specific problem/s on either PC.
  I hope you folks will be able to shed some light on my dilmma. Thanks & Regards, TUBA4
Logged

 
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2004, 01:24:25 AM »

Go here:

http://www.virtualmachine.tk/

Cactus
Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
TUBA4
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2004, 03:14:45 AM »

5/23/04, 2230, cdt, Chicago:
 Well, I found a download for M/S JVM. I downloaded it & it installed to the correct location(IE6> Tools> Internet Options> Advanced Preferences). BUT! Another problem that was there that i thought would go away with that download was the the fact that, as an example, when i click the "Printer friendly version" or "PreviewReply" link at the bottom of this page, as with any other web page, it doesn't respond! So when i try to print my stock portfolios from "Print Porfolio" it also doesn't respond. When i first posted here with this dilemma i thought the M/S JVM was the problem. Now i don't i'm having my doubts.
 Cactus: I have been unable to get your link to open, that is, left click, right click- open in new window & copy/paste in address line. Perhaps there are server problems, either my ISP or their's. Anyway i will try again tomorrow to find out what info might be there for my dilemma.
  Thanks for the input, TUBA4
Logged

 
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2004, 03:26:01 AM »

Hey TUBA4...I just checked the link and its working.

Cactus
Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
TUBA4
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 24, 2004, 03:38:43 AM »

Cactus: So I see. Thanks!
Logged

 
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: May 24, 2004, 03:40:29 AM »

No problem!!

Cactus
Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
TUBA4
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: May 24, 2004, 05:37:22 AM »

5/24/04,0040 CDT, Chicago.
Cactus:
  O'K, i went there & "it" confirms that everything is "up-to-snuff" on my machine. I pay close attention to Updates/patches.
 However, i'm still not finding info that will correct my "Printer Friendly" link issues. I do my maintenance routine regularly. I'm aware of & have used the IE repair tool many times over the years.
  I'm certain there is some basic issue that i'm overlooking that will reslove my dilemma. One of those "slap-the-forehead" things.
  BTW,that is a very interesting link.
  I print tons of stuff/yr. so correcting the print issue is important as it saves much ink/paper even though i have been refilling my own ink cartridges for years.
 TUBA4
Logged

 
benditup
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2105


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: May 24, 2004, 07:29:39 AM »

Get rid of JVM
http://www.java.com/en/index.jsp
Logged

 
TUBA4
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: May 24, 2004, 08:08:11 AM »

It's not that i object, but WHY get rid of M/S JVM on this PC  since it is working on my other PC without problems & doesn't exhibit the "Printer Version" issue. (see above post)
  TUBA4
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page April 06, 2017, 12:06:58 PM