MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Computer Related Discussions arrow General Discussions arrow Topic: Upgrading My Proccesor
November 18, 2019, 07:07:24 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 18, 2019, 07:07:24 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  We now offer MyTechSupport.ca Merchandise! Every purchase goes towards maintaining our site.
Thank you for supporting MyTechSupport.ca!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Upgrading My Proccesor  (Read 1279 times)
Axel_2k
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: May 20, 2004, 06:42:22 PM »

Hi,

I am wanting to upgrade my PC's Proccesor, the current system is:

Motherboard:        Matsonic MS8137C Socket A 462 PIN VIA Apollo kt266 Mainboard

Current Proccesor:  1.33GHz AMD Athlon

I am wondering what is the maximum proccesor speed i can have installed on this motherboard.

Thanks
Matt
Logged

 
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2004, 03:03:53 PM »

According to your specs the Max is 1.33GHz...might be able to Overclock it but i haven't look into that yet.
I'll see what I can find out for you.
Maybe someone can answer that before I can find out any info.


VIA Apollo KT266(Ver 1.0) / KT266A(Ver 2.0) Chipset 250
300
Processor
Support Socket A (Socket-462) for AMD Athlon /Duron Processor
Supports 600MHz ~ 1.33GHz processor
Chipset
PCB Version :


            1.0 VIA KT266

            2.0 VIA KT266A

Supports 200/266 MHz Front Side Bus


Memory
Supports two 184-pin DDR DIMM maximum size up to 2GB
Supports two 168-pin SDRAM DIMM maximum size up to 2GB


Ultra DMA 66/100 IDE Ports

Two independent channels for four IDE devices

Supports up to PIO mode 4 and Ultra DMA

33/66/100


SYSTEM BIOS
2MB Flash Rom on board, provides complete Advances Configuration Power Interface (ACPI) and Legacy PMU

Fully compliant to PC'97 and PC'98 Spec


I/O INTERFACE

PS/2 Mini-DIN mouse & keyboard ports

Two USB ports

One 25-pin female printer port

Two serial port

Audio I/O: LINE-Outx1 , LINE-Inx1, MIC JACK x1

One game port


BUS ARCHITECTURE

One CNR (Communication Network Riser)

One AGP (Accelerated Graphics Port) 4x slot

Five PCI 2.2 32-bit Master PCI Bus slots



Graphics Adapter Slot

Supports AGP 4x mode


BUILT IN AC97 PCI AUDIO

Supports built-in AC97 Digital Audio.

Dual full-duplex Direct Sound channels.

H/W Sound Blaster Pro DOS Legacy compatibility.

FM Synthesis for legacy compatibility.

Supports game or MIDI port


FORM FACTOR

Four layers, 30.4 cm x 24.0 cm

ATX form factor


OTHER

Supports multiple selectable sets of system and PCI clock speeds inside the BIOS directly,

allowing for easy, no-jumper configuration!!

Supports on-board Hardware Monitoring and

includes Hardware Health Utility to streamline your PC system management

Supports WOL (Wake On LAN) function to

simplify network management

Software power off control, Power-on by keyboard, Power-on by Alarm, Modem Ring On


Cactus
Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
KaTaLy5t
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 501


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2004, 02:03:33 PM »

Hey,

Whether or not you can overclock depends on a couple of things :

1) The potential for overclocking in your BIOS or by jumper setting.

2) Whether or not you want to change the mulitplier of your CPU.

Just remember that overclocking can damage your computer. So you should think hard about whether it's really worth it. If you need help on overclocking post back here and I can help you if you want.

Ross
Logged





You can't hug people with nuclear arms
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2004, 02:10:43 PM »

Overclocking is always a risk!
In the long run it could cause you more problems.

Just my thoughts....

Cactus
Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page November 16, 2016, 12:08:39 PM